New Books We Like

Recent releases of which we are particularly fond.

Martyr!: A novel By Kaveh Akbar Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593537619
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Knopf - January 23rd, 2024

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK • A newly sober, orphaned son of Iranian immigrants, guided by the voices of artists, poets, and kings, embarks on a remarkable search for a family secret that leads him to a terminally ill painter living out her final days in the Brooklyn Museum. Electrifying, funny, and wholly origin


Greta & Valdin: A Novel By Rebecca K. Reilly Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781668028049
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Avid Reader Press / Simon & Schuster - February 6th, 2024

A New York Times Editors’ Choice

For fans of Schitt’s Creek and Sally Rooney’s Normal People, an irresistible and bighearted international bestseller that follows a brother and sister as they navigate queerness, multiracial identity, and the dramas big and small of their entangled, unconventional family, all while flailing their way to love.


Alphabetical Diaries By Sheila Heti Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780374610784
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - February 6th, 2024

A thrilling confessional from the award-winning, beloved author of Pure Colour.

Sheila Heti kept a record of her thoughts over a ten-year period, then arranged the sentences from A to Z. Passionate and reflective, joyful and despairing, these are her alphabetical diaries.


You Dreamed of Empires: A Novel By Álvaro Enrigue, Natasha Wimmer (Translated by) Cover Image
By Álvaro Enrigue, Natasha Wimmer (Translated by)
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593544792
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Riverhead Books - January 9th, 2024

"Enrigue’s genius lies in his ability to bring readers close to its tangled knot of priests, mercenaries, warriors and princesses while adding a pinch of biting humor." --Silvia Moreno-Garcia, Los Angeles Times


Confrontations By Simone Antangana Bekono, Suzanne Heukensfeldt Jansen (Translated by) Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781639730919
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - January 30th, 2024

A bold, unsettling, surprisingly tender debut novel for readers of Jesmyn Ward and Nightcrawling.


The Last Fire Season: A Personal and Pyronatural History By Manjula Martin Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9780593317150
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Pantheon - January 16th, 2024

H Is for Hawk meets Joan Didion in the Pyrocene in this arresting combination of memoir, natural history, and literary inquiry that chronicles one woman’s experience of life in Northern California during the worst fire season on record.


Good Material: A novel By Dolly Alderton Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593801307
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Knopf - January 30th, 2024

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A TODAY SHOW #ReadWithJenna BOOK CLUB PICK • From the New York Times best-selling author of Ghosts and Everything I Know About Love: a story of heartbreak and friendship and how to survive both


The Fetishist By Katherine Min Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593713655
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - January 9th, 2024

An Indie Next Pick

In this hilariously savage, poignant novel by acclaimed author Katherine Min, a grieving daughter’s revenge on the man who caused her mother’s death sets off a series of unexpected reckonings.


Systems Ultra: Making Sense of Technology in a Complex World By Georgina Voss Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781839760556
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Verso - January 30th, 2024

A TOOLBOX FOR COMPREHENDING — AND CHANGING — THE WORLD

Systems Ultra explores how we experience complex systems: the mesh of things, people, and ideas interacting to produce their own patterns and behaviours.


Alien Daughters Walk Into the Sun: An Almanac of Extreme Girlhood (Semiotext(e) / Native Agents) By Jackie Wang Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781635901924
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Semiotext(e) - November 21st, 2023

The early writings of renowned poet and critical theorist Jackie Wang, drawn from her early zines, indie-lit crit, and prolific early 2000s blog.


Poor Deer: A Novel By Claire Oshetsky Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780063327665
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Ecco - January 9th, 2024

A wondrous, tender novel about a young girl grappling with her role in a tragic loss—and attempting to reshape the narrative of her life—from PEN/Faulkner Award nominee Claire Oshetsky


The Fair Folk By Su Bristow Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9798889660125
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Europa Editions - January 23rd, 2024

From prize-winning author Su Bristow comes a fascinating coming-of-age novel about magic and the choices that define future generations.


Sex with a Brain Injury: On Concussion and Recovery By Annie Liontas Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781668015544
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Scribner - January 16th, 2024

For readers of Meghan O’Rourke’s The Invisible Kingdom, Esmé Weijun Wang’s The Collected Schizophrenias, and Melissa Febos’s Girlhood, a powerful and deeply personal memoir in essays that sheds light on the silent epidemic of head trauma.

Annie Liontas suffered multiple concussions in her thirties.


The Bullet Swallower: A Novel By Elizabeth Gonzalez James Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781668009321
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Simon & Schuster - January 23rd, 2024

A Most Anticipated Book of 2024 by Goodreads, CrimeReads, The Millions, StyleCaster, The EveryGirl, Sunset, Book Riot, and HipLatina
January Recommended Reading by The Washington Post, Kirkus Reviews, Book Riot, Nerd Daily, The Mary Sue, and Reading Between the Spines
“Mesmeriz


Beautyland: A Novel By Marie-Helene Bertino Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780374109288
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - January 16th, 2024

A Must-Read: Nylon, The Boston Globe, San Francisco Chronicle, Chicago Review of Books, Literary Hub, The Millions, Kirkus Reviews, BookRiot, The Christian Science Monitor, Our Culture, The Saturday Evening Post


Come and Get It By Kiley Reid Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593328200
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - January 30th, 2024

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
National Bestseller
USA Today Bestseller

A Good Morning America Book Club Pick

An Indie Next Pick
A LibraryReads Pick