Middle Grade Fiction Recommendations

How to Heal a Gryphon By Meg Cannistra Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781335426871
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Inkyard Press - October 4th, 2022

"A funny, fantastical mystery. . . Perfect for fans of Rick Riordan." --Laura Ruby, Two-Time National Book Award Finalist and author of the YORK Trilogy

"I could live with these characters and in this world for a good long while. Bring on the sequel " --New York Times bestselling author Julie Murphy


Futureland: Battle for the Park By H.D. Hunter, Khadijah Khatib (Illustrator) Cover Image
By H.D. Hunter, Khadijah Khatib (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780593479421
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships from warehouse in several days.
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - November 8th, 2022

When an extraordinary flying theme park arrives above Atlanta, one boy must stop a sinister force from stealing the park's tech and taking over the world. An electrifying illustrated series with the Afrofuturism of Black Panther that took the world by storm. Perfect for fans of Spider-Man: Miles Morales.


Sir Callie and the Champions of Helston By Esme Symes-Smith Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593485774
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships from warehouse in several days.
Published: Labyrinth Road - November 8th, 2022

In a magical medieval world filled with dragons, shape-shifters, and witches, a twelve-year-old nonbinary hopeful knight battles for the heart of their kingdom. This USA Today bestselling series explores identity and gender amid sword fights and magic, and proves anyone can be a hero.


Black Bird, Blue Road By Sofiya Pasternack Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780358572039
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships from warehouse in several days.
Published: Versify - September 20th, 2022

In this historical fantasy novel, praised as a “rich, omen-filled journey that powerfully shows love and its limits*” and “propulsive, wise, and heartbreaking,”** Ziva will do anything to save her twin brother Pesah from his illness—even facing the Angel of Death himself.


Wolfstongue By Sam Thompson, Anna Tromop (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Sam Thompson, Anna Tromop (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781915071002
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships from warehouse in several days.
Published: Little Island Books - August 30th, 2022

2023 USBBY Outstanding International Books


Key Player (Front Desk #4) By Kelly Yang Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338776256
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships from warehouse in several days.
Published: Scholastic Press - September 6th, 2022

Mia Tang is going for the goal in the fourth Front Desk novel by New York Times bestselling author Kelly Yang!

Mia Tang is play to win!

The Women’s World Cup is coming to Southern California, and everyone has soccer fever—especially Mia Tang! The U.S. team is playing China in the finals, and Mia feels like her two identities are finally coming together.


My Aunt Is a Monster: (A Graphic Novel) By Reimena Yee Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9781984894182
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships from warehouse in several days.
Published: Random House Graphic - October 25th, 2022

Curses! Adventures! And drama! Oh my! Safia might not be able to see the world, but that doesn’t mean she can’t experience it to the fullest as she finds herself on her very first adventure! This is a contemporary fantasy middle-grade graphic novel about discovering what you are truly capable of.


Enemies (Berrybrook Middle School #5) By SVETLANA CHMAKOVA Cover Image
$13.00
ISBN: 9781975312725
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: JY - September 27th, 2022

Felicity’s sure she’s going to do something big. Exactly what is still a mystery, but she’ll figure it out. Her sister, Letty, teases Felicity that she never finishes stuff, but that’s just because Letty is so perfect. Still, life is good with plenty of friends—drawing with the art club and playing games with her buddies keep her busy.


Freestyle: A Graphic Novel By Gale Galligan Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338045802
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Graphix - October 18th, 2022

From New York Times bestselling author Gale Galligan, a fun, high-energy graphic novel about friendship, family, and the last hurrahs of middle school.

Cory's dance crew is getting ready for a major competition. It's the last one before they graduate eighth grade and go their separate ways to high schools all over New York City, so they have to make it count!


The Wondrous Wonders By Camille Jourdy Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781250799111
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: First Second - November 1st, 2022

With irresistible wit and brilliant strokes of watercolor, Camille Jourdy brings this dreamlike fable to life. Wondrous Wonders is a tale of pure magic for children and adults alike.


Invisible: A Graphic Novel By Christina Diaz Gonzalez, Gabriela Epstein (Illustrator) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338194548
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Graphix - August 2nd, 2022

A USA TODAY and Indie Bestseller!

For fans of New Kid and Allergic, a must-have graphic novel about five very different students who are forced together by their school to complete community service...


Terry's Crew By Terry Crews, Cory Thomas Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780316499989
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships from warehouse in several days.
Published: Little, Brown Ink - November 8th, 2022

Actor/author/athlete Terry Crews digs into his childhood in Flint, Michigan, to tell a story of fitting in and finding your place in his showstopping debut middle-grade graphic novel, the start of a series.

Terry's Crew is a true delight from beginning to end.


Alliana, Girl of Dragons By Julie Abe Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316300353
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships from warehouse in several days.
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - August 2nd, 2022

For fans of Shannon Hale and Gail Carson Levine, comes an enchanting fairy tale retelling of the Japanese Cinderella, set in the magical world of Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch.

Once upon a time, Alliana believed in dreams and fairy tales as sweet as spun-sugar clouds.


The Secret Diary of Mona Hasan By Salma Hussain Cover Image
$17.99
Temporarily Unavailable
ISBN: 9780735271494
Published: Tundra Books - May 3rd, 2022

Mona learns to find her voice over the course of a year that sees her immigrating from Dubai to Canada in this novel for fans of Front Desk by Kelly Yang.