Middle Grade Fiction Recommendations

Temple Alley Summer Cover Image
By Sachiko Kashiwaba, Avery Fischer Udagawa (Translator), Miho Satake (Illustrator)
$18.00
ISBN: 9781632063038
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Yonder - July 6th, 2021

This middle grade novel translated from Japan is so good with a lot of mystery and spooky elements. The adventure starts with Kazu realizes his house used to be an old temple and there's a girl haunting it! --Sara


Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky (A Tristan Strong Novel, Book 1) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781368042413
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Rick Riordan Presents - September 22nd, 2020

Middle Grade -- Ages 9 to 13 -- From the imprint of Rick Riordan (creator of Percy Jackson)! Since the day of the tragic accident that killed his best friend Eddie, Tristan Strong has felt anything but strong. When Eddie's journal is stolen by a sticky-fingered character from African folklore, Tristan fights so hard to get it back that he punches a hole in the sky and enters a world he thought only existed in his grandmother's stories. In this epic tale of a boy who just wants to go home, Tristan makes friends with heroes and gods like John Henry, Brer Rabbit, and Nyame as they fight off monsters threatening to erase their stories. -- Erica


Manu: A Graphic Novel Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338264180
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Graphix - November 2nd, 2021

Manu is so cute and good! She's a trouble-maker with a heart of gold and just wants to have fun all the time. When she loses her magic one day, she uses a spell to get it back, but it's much more powerful than it used to be! Uh oh... --Sara


A-Okay Cover Image
By Jarad Greene, Jarad Greene (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780063032842
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: HarperAlley - November 2nd, 2021

 


The Deep & Dark Blue Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780316486019
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - January 7th, 2020

Two twins sneak into a magical convent. One fits right in and realizes she is a trans girl while her brother gets into wacky hijinks. The art is incredible and intertwined with the story, since the magic system revolves around the color blue. The Deep & Dark Blue has great protagonists and some of the best world building I've ever seen in a graphic novel! --Will


The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle (Scholastic Gold) Cover Image
By Avi
$7.99
ISBN: 9780545477116
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Scholastic Paperbacks - September 1st, 2012

"My hair, uncombed for days, blew free in the salt air. My face, dark with weather, was creased with smile. I was squinting westward into the swollen face of a blood-red sunset, which cast a shimmering golden road upon the sea; from where I perched it seemed we were sailing on that road in a dream. And there I was, joyous, new-made, liberated from the prizon I thought was my proper place!" --A quote bookseller Devin loved


Room to Dream (Front Desk #3) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338621129
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Scholastic Press - September 21st, 2021

The latest Front Desk novel!!


The Leopard Behind the Moon Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062993618
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Greenwillow Books - September 21st, 2021

A beautifully rendered coming-of-age story.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)


Obie Is Man Enough Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780593379462
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - September 7th, 2021

A coming-of-age story about transgender tween Obie, who didn't think being himself would cause such a splash. For fans of Alex Gino's George and Lisa Bunker's Felix Yz.

Obie knew his transition would have ripple effects. He has to leave his swim coach, his pool, and his best friends. But it’s time for Obie to find where he truly belongs.
 


Ophie’s Ghosts Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062915894
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships from warehouse in several days.
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 18th, 2021

Winner, Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction! The New York Times bestselling author of Dread Nation makes her middle grade debut with a sweeping tale of the ghosts of our past that won’t stay buried, starring an unforgettable girl named Ophie.


The Swag Is in the Socks Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780593380864
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships from warehouse in several days.
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - November 2nd, 2021

Xavier Moon is stepping out of the shadows when his great-uncle gives him some outlandish socks and some even stranger requests. A story about heart, confidence, and standing on your own two feet that is perfect for fans of The Season of Styx Malone and The Parker Inheritance.