Fiction Picks!

 

 

Some of our favorite recent Novels and Short Story Collections!

The Factory Cover Image
By Hiroko Oyamada, David Boyd (Translated by)
$13.95
ISBN: 9780811228855
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: New Directions - October 29th, 2019

The English-language debut of Hiroko Oyamada—one of the most powerfully strange young voices in Japan


The Quarter: Stories Cover Image
By Naguib Mahfouz, Roger Allen (Translator), Elif Shafak (Foreword by)
$14.95
ISBN: 9780863563751
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Saqi Books - September 24th, 2019

Meet the people of Cairo's Gamaliya quarter. There is Nabqa, son of Adam the waterseller who can only speak truths; the beautiful and talented Tawhida who does not age with time; Ali Zaidan, the gambler, late to love; and Boss Saqr who stashes his money above the bath. A neighbourhood of demons, dancing and sweet halva, the quarter keeps quiet vigil over the secrets of all who live there.


Seasonal Associate (Semiotext(e) / Native Agents) Cover Image
By Heike Geissler, Kevin Vennemann (Afterword by), Katy Derbyshire (Translator)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781635900361
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Semiotext(e) - December 4th, 2018

How the brutalities of working life are transformed into exhaustion, shame, and self-doubt: a writer's account of her experience working in an Amazon fulfillment center.


I Used to Be Charming: The Rest of Eve Babitz Cover Image
By Eve Babitz, Molly Lambert (Introduction by), Sara Kramer (Editor)
$17.95
ISBN: 9781681373799
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: NYRB Classics - October 8th, 2019

Previously uncollected nonfiction pieces by Hollywood's ultimate It Girl about everything from fashion to tango to Jim Morrison and Nicholas Cage.


I Hotel Cover Image
By Karen Tei Yamashita, Jessica Hagedorn (Introduction by), Karen Tei Yamashita (Preface by)
$21.95
ISBN: 9781566895453
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Coffee House Press - October 8th, 2019

Dazzling and ambitious, this multivoiced fusion of prose, playwriting, graphic art, and philosophy spins an epic tale of America's struggle for civil rights as it played out in San Francisco near the end of the 1960s.


Ducks, Newburyport Cover Image
$22.95
ISBN: 9781771963077
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Biblioasis - September 10th, 2019

WINNER OF THE 2019 GOLDSMITHS PRIZE SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2019 BOOKER PRIZE NOMINATED FOR THE 2020 ANDREW CARNEGIE MEDAL

Baking a multitude of tartes tatins for local restaurants, an Ohio housewife contemplates her four kids, husband, cats and chickens. Also, America's ignoble past, and her own regrets.


On Swift Horses: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525538110
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Riverhead Books - November 5th, 2019

“Cinematic . . . The spaces she creates for her characters . . . have the aura of realms.” —The New York Times Book Review

Named a Most Anticipated Book of Fall by The New York Times, Real Simple, Electric Literature, and more.


Pre-Order Now Badge
Camille in October (The Pride List) Cover Image
By Mireille Best, Stephanie Schechner (Translated by)
$24.50
ISBN: 9780857426970
Availability: Coming Soon. Pre-Order Now!
Published: Seagull Books - December 15th, 2019

In 1950s France, Camille struggles to figure out who she is and where she fits in the world of her coastal working-class neighborhood. Her mother holds the family together, with the support of a group of women who talk over coffee and cigarettes each day. Her father, a war veteran, is largely silent except when his inner rage erupts in violence.


The Memory Police: A Novel Cover Image
By Yoko Ogawa, Stephen Snyder (Translated by)
$25.95
ISBN: 9781101870600
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Pantheon - August 13th, 2019

*** 2019 NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST ***
*** NEW YORK TIMES 100 NOTABLE BOOKS OF THE YEAR ***

A haunting Orwellian novel about the terrors of state surveillance, from the acclaimed author of The Housekeeper and the Professor.


On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525562023
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Penguin Press - June 4th, 2019

Longlisted for the 2019 National Book Award for Fiction! 

An instant New York Times Bestseller! 

Longlisted for the Carnegie Medal! 


Red at the Bone: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525535270
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Riverhead Books - September 17th, 2019

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

One of OPRAH MAGAZINE’S "BEST BOOKS OF 2019"

NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK OF THE YEAR


"An exquisite tale of family legacy….The power and poetry of Woodson’s writing conjures up Toni Morrison." – People

 


The Cheffe: A Cook's Novel Cover Image
By Marie NDiaye, Jordan Stump (Translated by)
$26.95
ISBN: 9780525520474
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Knopf - October 29th, 2019

From the Booker Prize-nominated author of Three Strong Women: an elegant, hypnotic new novel about a legendary French female chef--the facts her life, the nearly ineffable qualities of her cooking, and the obsessive, sometimes destructive desire for purity of taste and experience that shaped her life.


The Future of Another Timeline Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780765392107
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Tor Books - September 24th, 2019

A revolution is happening in speculative fiction, and Annalee Newitz is leading the vanguard."--Wil Wheaton


Agent Running in the Field: A Novel Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9781984878878
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Viking - October 22nd, 2019

“[Le Carré’s] novels are so brilliant because they’re emotionally and psychologically absolutely true, but of course they’re novels.” —New York Times Book Review

A new novel from the #1 New York Times bestselling author John le Carré, a great holiday book gift

 


Baron Wenckheim's Homecoming Cover Image
$29.95
ISBN: 9780811226646
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: New Directions - September 24th, 2019

WINNER OF THE 2019 NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FOR TRANSLATED LITERATURE

 


Lost Transmissions: The Secret History of Science Fiction and Fantasy Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781419734656
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Harry N. Abrams - September 10th, 2019

The Electric State Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781501181412
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Skybound Books - September 25th, 2018

NPR Best Books of 2018

A teen girl and her robot embark on a cross-country mission in this illustrated science fiction story, perfect for fans of Ready Player One and Black Mirror.