POSTPONED 9th Ave: Charles Johnson

Tuesday, October 18, 2022 - 7:00pm

Cover of Charles Johnson's "All Your Racial Problems Will Soon End: The Cartoons of Charles Johnson." The cover is read, and the title and subtitle are written in white and black font, respectively. On the cover is a Johnson cartoon. There are drawings of white partygoers in the background, and in the foreground, sitting on the couch, is an older white woman leaning in with a smile to a Black militant man leaning away from her with at best disinterest and at most disgust. They are both holding espresso cups.
THIS EVENT HAS BEEN POSTPONED. KEEP AN EYE ON THIS SPACE FOR A NEW DATE AND TIME.


Join us on Tuesday, October 18 at 7pm PT when Charles Johnson celebrates the release of his collected comics, All Your Racial Problems Will Soon End, at 9th Ave!

Masks and Proof of Vaccination Required for In-Person Attendance

Or watch online by registering at the link below
https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_80Nc6VmZQfuvNOX5FZmvmw

About All Your Racial Problems Will Soon End
Years before he wrote his National Book Award–winning novel Middle Passage, Charles Johnson created these sidesplitting and subversive gag comics about Black life in America, now collected for the first time in nearly half a century.

Before Charles Johnson found fame as a novelist and won the National Book Award for Middle Passage in 1991, he was a cartoonist, and a very good one.

Taught via mail correspondence course by the comics editor Lawrence Lariar, mentored by the New Yorker cartoonist Charles Barsotti, and inspired by the call of poet Amiri Baraka to celebrate and depict Black life in America, Johnson crafted some of the fiercest and funniest cartoons of the twentieth century. 

Reimagining the gag comic as a powerful and incendiary tool, Johnson tackled America’s mid-century afflictions—segregation, inner-city poverty, police brutality, and white supremacy—by craftily subverting stale gag tropes. He populated them with bullet-dodging Black Panthers, doubt-filled Klansmen, militant babies, self-serving politicians, and complacent suburban liberals.

This collection, Johnson’s first in nearly fifty years, brings together work from across his career: college newspaper gags, selections from his books Black Humor and Half-Past Nation Time, his unpublished manuscript Lumps in the Melting Pot, and uncollected pieces. Taken together, this volume reveals Johnson as long overdue for appreciation as a cartoonist of the first order. 

About Charles Johnson
Charles Johnson is a novelist, essayist, literary scholar, philosopher, cartoonist, screenwriter, and professor emeritus at the University of Washington in Seattle. A MacArthur fellow, he won the National Book Award for his novel Middle Passage in 1990. He is one of the artists and contributors featured in It’s Life as I See It: Black Cartoonists in Chicago, 1940–1980, published by New York Review Comics.

 

Pre-Order Now Badge
All Your Racial Problems Will Soon End: The Cartoons of Charles Johnson By Charles Johnson Cover Image
$34.95
ISBN: 9781681376738
Availability: Coming Soon. Pre-Order Now!
Published: New York Review Comics - November 8th, 2022

Years before he wrote his National Book Award–winning novel Middle Passage, Charles Johnson created these sidesplitting and subversive gag comics about Black life in America, now collected for the first time in nearly half a century.


Night Hawks: Stories By Charles Johnson Cover Image
$17.60
Temporarily Unavailable
ISBN: 9781501184390
Published: Scribner - May 7th, 2019

From National Book Award winner Charles Johnson, “the celebrated novelist, short story writer, screenwriter, and essayist…comes a small treasure, one to be read and considered and reread” (The New York Times Book Review), showcasing his incredible range and resonant voice.

Charles Johnson’s Night Hawks presents an eclectic, masterf


Middle Passage: A Novel By Charles Johnson Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780684855882
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships from warehouse in several days.
Published: Scribner - July 1st, 1998

A twenty-fifth anniversary edition of Charles Johnson’s National Book Award-winning masterpiece—"a novel in the tradition of Billy Budd and Moby-Dick…heroic in proportion…fiction that hooks the mind" (The New York Times Book Review)—now with a new introduction from Stanley Crouch.

Rutherford Calhoun, a newly freed slave and irrepre


Event Categories: