9th Ave: Scott Guild with Parini Shroff

Wednesday, February 21, 2024 - 7:00pm

This event will be held at our 1231 9th Ave location in the Inner Sunset. 

Cover of Scott Guild's novel, Plastic. The cover is black, with 3D bubblegum pink letters making up the title. In the center is a plastic house of the same pink, with a figure of a woman--also pink--sitting on a bed.
Join us on Wednesday, February 21 at 7pm PT for a evening of literature and live music as we celebrate the release of Scott Guild's novel and album of the same name, Plastic, with Parini Shroff at 9th Ave
Featuring musician Cindertalk

Masks Encouraged for In-Person Attendance
Or watch online at the link below
https://youtube.com/live/NZZa40uLGAg?feature=share

About the Event
Author and musician Scott Guild brings us an evening of Plastic--the novel and the album! The night will include a reading and discussion the novel with The Bandit Queens author Parini Shroff, and live music from the Plastic album. 

Praise for Plastic
“A world constructed from strange and wondrous materials. A world that is deeply strange and deeply familiar, with language to match—funny, broken, sad and beautiful. Evocative and highly original, Plastic is a captivating debut.”— Charles Yu, National Book Award-winning author of Interior Chinatown

“I don't know how to describe Scott Guild's Plastic, a stunningly brilliant novel, other than to say it is profound, hilarious, wrenching, bizarre, about an imaginary universe with incalculable complexities that is also somehow our own broken world. It's one of those books that will follow you around, into your dreams and your daily life. You have never read anything like it. Scott Guild is an endlessly inventive and deeply exciting writer, morbid and funny and strange and humane." — Elizabeth McCracken, National Book Award-nominated author of The Hero of This Book

About Plastic: The Novel
Erin is a plastic girl living in a plastic world. Every day she eats a breakfast of boiled chicken, then conveys her articulated body to Tablet Town, where she sells Smartbodies: wearable tech that immerses her fellow figurines in a virtual world, a refuge from real life’s brutal wars and eco-terrorist insurgency. If you cut her, she will not bleed—but figurines can still be cracked by gunfire or crumble from nuclear fallout. Erin, who’s lost her father and the love of her life, certainly knows plenty about death.

One day, a terror attack at work leads Erin to meet Jacob, a blind figurine with whom she feels an instant connection. Together they start to explore the wonders of the virtual reality landscape. But just as they begin to heal from their traumas, secrets from Erin’s past threaten to crack the facade she’s built around her life, revealing everything vulnerable beneath. 

Both a dystopian comedy and a serious dissection of our own pre-apocalypse, Plastic is a fabulously inventive look at the hollow core of American society—and a guide to how we might reanimate all of its broken plastic pieces.

About Plastic: The Album
Plastic: The Album tells the story of the novel through a cycle of dynamic baroque-pop songs, featuring lyrics from the musical numbers in the book. Two brilliant singers feature on the album—the artist Stranger Cat (a frequent collaborator of Sufjan Stevens) and the singer/songwriter Anna Hoone (Loch Lomond)—singing in the voice of Erin James, the novel’s plastic protagonist.

The album grew out of a collaboration between Scott and the visionary artist Cindertalk (My Brightest Diamond, Son Lux), as well as the Grammy-winning producer Peter Katis (The National, Sharon Van Etten, Interpol). Other contributors include the artist Gainsayer (Ages and Ages).

About Scott Guild
Scott Guild
received his MFA from the New Writers Project at the University of Texas at Austin, and his PhD in English from the University of Nebraska–Lincoln. He served for years as assistant director of Pen City Writers, a prison writing initiative for incarcerated students. He is currently an assistant professor at Marian University in Indianapolis, where he teaches literature and creative writing. Before his degrees, Scott was the songwriter and lead guitarist for the new wave band New Collisions, which toured with the B-52s and opened for Blondie.

About Parini Shroff
Parini Shroff received her MFA from the University of Texas at Austin, where she studied under Elizabeth McCracken, Alexander Chee, and Cristina García. She is a practicing attorney and currently lives in the San Francisco Bay Area. The Bandit Queens is her debut novel.

 

Plastic: A Novel By Scott Guild Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593316764
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Pantheon - February 13th, 2024

For fans of Interior Chinatown and American War, a surreal, hilarious, and sneakily profound debut novel that casts our current climate of gun violence and environmental destruction in a surprising new mold.


The Bandit Queens: A Novel By Parini Shroff Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780593498972
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Ballantine Books - January 9th, 2024

NATIONAL BESTSELLER • GOOD MORNING AMERICA BUZZ PICK • A young Indian woman finds the false rumors that she killed her husband surprisingly useful—until other women in the village start asking for her help getting rid of their own husbands—in this razor-sharp debut.


Event Categories: