9th Ave: Idra Novey with Marie Mockett and Bernice Yeung

Sunday, November 11, 2018 - 7:30pm

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Idra Novey discusses her new novel Those Who Knew with Marie Mockett and Bernice Yeung.

 

Praise for Those Who Knew

 

“There’s an urgent timeliness to this story of the crimes committed by a powerful man, but Idra Novey’s riveting, formally brilliant novel transcends any particular moment. Those Who Knew is a devastating inquiry into the way lofty ideals can serve as cover for brutal impulses, the way struggles for control of the body politic wreak havoc on actual bodies. Most of all, it’s an indictment, at once fierce and compassionate, of the collective silence that implicates us all in irrevocable wrongs.” —Garth Greenwell, author of What Belongs to You
 
“Genius. That’s what I kept thinking as I read this novel that somehow combines an invented island, a political bookstore, fragments of a stage production, and a story that's at once a damning critique of craven self-interest and a tale about our inescapable connectedness. Idra Novey has written an irreverent, magical, perfect puzzle of a book.”—Cristina Henriquez, author of The Book of Unknown Americans
 
“Those Who Knew is a beautiful novel about that which we cannot deny, in ourselves or others, and the price we are too often willing to pay for what we think is like freedom.”—Alexander Chee, author of Queen of the Night

 

About Those Who Knew

 


On an unnamed island country ten years after the collapse of a U.S.-supported regime, Lena suspects the powerful senator she was involved with back in her student activist days is taking advantage of a young woman who's been introducing him at rallies. When the young woman ends up dead, Lena revisits her own fraught history with the senator and the violent incident that ended their relationship.



Why didn't Lena speak up then, and will her family's support of the former regime still impact her credibility? What if her hunch about this young woman's death is wrong?



What follows is a riveting exploration of the cost of staying silent and the mixed rewards of speaking up in a profoundly divided country. Those Who Knew confirms Novey's place as an essential new voice in American fiction.

 

 

 

Those Who Knew: A Novel Cover Image
Not available to order
ISBN: 9780525560432
Availability: Stock uncertain--should fulfill within 10 days or so
Published: Viking - November 6th, 2018

Named a BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR by * NPR * Esquire * O, The Oprah Magazine * Real Simple * BBC * PopSugar * Bustle * Kirkus Reviews * Lit Hub

“A gripping, astute, and deeply humane political thriller.” —The Boston Globe

“Mesmerizing [and] uncannily prescient.”—Los Angeles Times


Staff Pick Badge
Ways to Disappear Cover Image
$17.59
ISBN: 9780316298476
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships from warehouse in several days.
Published: Back Bay Books - January 17th, 2017

For fans of Robin Sloan's Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore and Maria Semple's Where'd You Go, Bernadette, an inventive, brilliant debut novel about the disappearance of a famous Brazilian novelist and the young translator who turns her life upside down to follow her author's trail.


In a Day's Work: The Fight to End Sexual Violence Against America's Most Vulnerable Workers Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781620973158
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships from warehouse in several days.
Published: New Press - March 20th, 2018

2019 Pulitzer Prize Finalist in General Nonfiction


Where the Dead Pause, and the Japanese Say Goodbye: A Journey Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780393352290
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - January 18th, 2016

“Read it. You will be uplifted.”—Ruth Ozeki, Zen priest, author of A Tale for the Time Being


Event Categories: