9th Ave: Danielle Svetcov

Wednesday, February 12, 2020 - 7:30pm

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

Parked Cover Image

Danielle Svetcov discusses her new book, Parked.

Praise for Parked

"A big-hearted novel with characters I wish were my friends in real life." --Gennifer Choldenko, author of the Al Capone at Alcatraz series

“Danielle Svetcov has written a novel that's utterly of this moment. It's a book about generosity—not just toward others, but toward oneself. Parked is a reminder that we don’t have to feel alone in the world, because we’re not.”—Jack Cheng, Golden Kite Award-winning author of See You in the Cosmos

"An absorbing and warm-hearted read that explores what happens when homelessness and helpfulness collide. Readers will be transported while parked. —Annie Barrows, author of the Ivy & Bean series

About Parked

Jeanne Ann is smart, stubborn, living in an orange van, and determined to find a permanent address before the start of seventh grade.

Cal is tall, sensitive, living in a humongous house across the street, and determined to save her.

Jeanne Ann is roughly as enthusiastic about his help as she is about living in a van.

As the two form a tentative friendship that grows deeper over alternating chapters, they're buoyed by a cast of complex, oddball characters, who let them down, lift them up, and leave you cheering. Debut novelist Danielle Svetcov shines a light on a big problem without a ready answer, nailing heartbreak and hope, and pulling it off with a humor and warmth that make the funny parts of Jeanne Ann and Cal's story cathartic and the difficult parts all the more moving.

 

Parked Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399539039
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Dial Books - February 4th, 2020

For fans of Rebecca Stead and Joan Bauer comes a scrappy, poignant, uplifting debut about family, friendship, and the importance of learning both how to offer help and how to accept it.

"A big-hearted novel with characters I wish were my friends in real life." --Gennifer Choldenko, author of the Al Capone at Alcatraz series


Event Categories: