9th Ave: D. Wystan Owen and Chia-Chia Lin

Wednesday, August 22, 2018 - 7:30pm

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

D. Wystan Owen discusses his new story collection, Other People's Love Affairs with Chia-Chia Lin.

 

Praise for Other People's Love Affairs

 

“I think this is an absolutely brilliant book from an extraordinarily gifted writer…The stories are patient, exquisite, written with an attention to and reverence for character that astonishes me. D. Wystan Owen writes…stories that lodge somewhere in my chest and keep detonating—loudly, devastatingly—again and again.”—Garth Greenwell, author of What Belongs to You


“D. Wystan Owen’s sentences are so breath-catchingly elegant, his paragraphs so honed for gut-punching power and depth, reading him is a full body experience. The stories of Glass, as subtle as they are profound, reveal us to ourselves in all our emotional complexity, all our loneliness and striving. Think Munro, think Welty, think even, Mansfield—and understand that like the collections by those masters of the short form, this book is strong medicine for a heart-broken world.”—Pam Houston, author of Contents May Have Shifted


“D. Wystan Owen has a keen eye for what falls outside the spotlight and what's hidden underneath the surface. Writing in the tradition of Chekhov, William Trevor, and Alice Munro, Owen's stories remind us that the thrills and the dangers of living oftentimes go hand-in-hand with the everydayness of life. In these stories no loss is too small, each moment counts. Owen is not a trendy writer, but a classic one.”—Yiyun Li, author of Dear Friend, from My Life I Write to You in Your Life 

 

About Other People's Love Affairs

 

In the ten luminous stories of D. Wystan Owen's debut collection, the people of Glass, a picturesque village on the rugged English coast, are haunted by longings and deeply held secrets, captive to pasts that remain as alive as the present. Each story takes us into the lives of characters reaching earnestly and often courageously for connection to the people they have loved. Owen observes their heartbreaks, their small triumphs, and their generous capacity for grace.

A young nurse, reeling from the disappearance of her mother, forges an unlikely friendship with a local vagrant. A young boy is by turns dazzled and disillusioned by a trip to the circus with a family friend. A widower revisits the cinema where, as a teenager, he and an older woman shared trysts that both thrilled and baffled him. A woman is offered fragile, uneasy forgiveness for a cruel act from years ago. And in the title story, a shopkeeper's vision of the woman she loved is upended by the startling revelation of a secret life. Surprising and powerful, and in the classic tradition of fiction by James Joyce, William Trevor, and Elizabeth Strout, Owen's interconnected stories strike a deep and resounding emotional chord.

 

 

 

Other People's Love Affairs: Stories Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781616207052
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Algonquin Books - August 21st, 2018

“Owen writes exquisite stories that lodge somewhere in my chest and keep detonating—loudly, devastatingly—again and again.”—Garth Greenwell, author of What Belongs to You

In the ten luminous stories of D.


Event Categories: