Books on the Park

9th Ave: Moira Weigel on the Invention of Dating

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. store.

 

 

Moira Weigel talks about her book, Labor of Love: The Invention of Dating (FSG).

 

About Labor of Love:

Labor of Love: The Invention of Dating Cover Image
Not available to order
ISBN: 9780374182533
Availability: Stock uncertain--should fulfill within 10 days or so
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - May 17th, 2016

“Does anyone date anymore?” Today, the authorities tell us that courtship is in crisis. But when Moira Weigel dives into the history of sex and romance in modern America, she discovers that authorities have always said this. Ever since young men and women started to go out together, older generations have scolded them: That’s not the way to find true love.


9th Ave: Peter Selgin

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. store.

 

 

Peter Selgin discusses his memoir, The Inventors (Hawthorne Books).

 

 

The Inventors: A Memoir Cover Image
By Peter Selgin, Lidia Yuknavitch (Introduction by)
$18.95
ISBN: 9780989360470
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships from warehouse in several days.
Published: Hawthorne Books - March 29th, 2016

Fall, 1970. At the start of eighth grade, Peter Selgin fell in love with the young teacher who'd arrived from Oxford in Frye boots, with long hair, and a passion for his students that was intense and unorthodox. The son of an emotionally remote inventor, Peter was also a twin with a burning need to feel unique.


9th Ave: Naja Marie Aidt and Andrés Neuman

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. store.

 

 

 

Rock, Paper, Scissors (Danish Women Writers) Cover Image
By Naja Marie Aidt, K. E. Semmel (Translator)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781940953168
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Open Letter - August 11th, 2015

"The emotions unleashed in this tale . . . are painfully universal. Yet you know exactly where in the universe you are. This is the hallmark of great short stories, from Chekhov's portraits of discontented Russians to Joyce's struggling Dubliners."--Radhika Jones, Time


The Things We Don't Do Cover Image
By Andrés Neuman, Nick Caistor (Translator), Lorenza Garcia (Translator)
Not available to order
ISBN: 9781940953182
Availability: Stock uncertain--should fulfill within 10 days or so
Published: Open Letter - August 25th, 2015

"Good readers will find something that can be found only in great literature, the kind written by real poets, a literature that dares to venture into the dark with open eyes and that keeps its eyes open no matter what . . . . The literature of the twenty-first century will belong to Neuman and a few of his blood brothers."--Roberto Bola o


9th Ave: Heather Havrilesky, Mallory Ortberg, and Leah Reich

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. store.

 

 

 

How to Be a Person in the World: Ask Polly's Guide Through the Paradoxes of Modern Life Cover Image
Not available to order
ISBN: 9780385540391
Availability: Hard to Find. Not available to order.
Published: Doubleday - July 12th, 2016

*A New York Times Love and Relationships bestseller*

For readers of Cheryl Strayed and Anne Lamott, a collection of brand new, impassioned, and inspiring letters by the author of the beloved advice column Ask Polly, featured weekly on New York Magazine's The Cut


Staff Pick Badge
Texts from Jane Eyre: And Other Conversations with Your Favorite Literary Characters Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781627791830
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships from warehouse in several days.
Published: Henry Holt and Co. - November 4th, 2014


Hilariously imagined text conversations—the passive aggressive, the clever, and the strange—from classic and modern literary figures, from Scarlett O'Hara to Jessica Wakefield


9th Ave: Chester Brown

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. store.

 

 

Mary Wept Over the Feet of Jesus Cover Image
Not available to order
ISBN: 9781770462342
Availability: Backordered--delivery time uncertain
Published: Drawn and Quarterly - April 12th, 2016

The idiosyncratic master Chester Brown continues his thoughts on sex work


Paying for It Cover Image
Not available to order
ISBN: 9781770461192
Availability: Stock uncertain--should fulfill within 10 days or so
Published: Drawn and Quarterly - May 28th, 2013

The critically lauded memoir about being a john, available in paperback for the first time!


9th Ave: Christos Ikonomou and Anne Germanacos

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. store.

 

 

Christos Ikonomou in conversation with Anne Germanacos about his English-language debut, Something Will Happen, You'll See.

 

 

Something Will Happen, You'll See Cover Image
By Christos Ikonomou, Karen Emmerich (Translated by)
$18.00
ISBN: 9780914671350
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Archipelago - March 15th, 2016

Ikonomou's stories convey the plight of those worst affected by the Greek economic crisis--laid-off workers, hungry children. In the urban sprawl between Athens and Piraeus, the narratives roam restlessly through the impoverished working-class quarters located off the tourist routes.


9th Ave: Hope Jahren and Annalee Newitz - CANCELLED

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. store.

 

DUE TO ILLNESS, THIS EVENT HAS BEEN CANCELLED. 

 

We'll share updates on a possible reschedule as soon as possible.

 

Lab Girl Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781101874936
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships from warehouse in several days.
Published: Knopf - April 5th, 2016

Winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award for Autobiography
A New York Times 2016 Notable Book
National Best Seller
Named one of TIME magazine’s "100 Most Influential People"
An Amazon Top 20 Best Book of 2016
A Washington Post Best Memoir of 2016
A TIME and Entertainment Weekly Best Book of 2016


Scatter, Adapt, and Remember: How Humans Will Survive a Mass Extinction Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780307949424
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Anchor - April 8th, 2014

A Los Angeles Times Book Prize Finalist in Science & Technology


9th Ave: Charlotte Shane and Jenny Zhang

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. store.

 

 

 

Dear Jenny, We Are All Find Cover Image
Not available to order
ISBN: 9780985118204
Availability: Backordered--delivery time uncertain
Published: Octopus Books - March 6th, 2012

Poetry. Asian American Studies. Jenny Zhang's poems broadcast themselves with a surrealist anxiety. 'Can't I be my own dream?' she asks. The answer is always yes and always no. With dizzying energy and intelligence, Zhang forages through familial, global, and even anatomical configurations vainly outlining an identity that manifests only to shift and move restlessly on.


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Books on the Park