Books on the Park

9th Ave: Anna Wiener and Mike Isaac

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

Uncanny Valley: A Memoir Cover Image

Anna Wiener discusses her new memoir, Uncanny Valley, with author Mike Isaac.

Praise for Uncanny Valley

Uncanny Valley: A Memoir Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780374278014
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: MCD - January 14th, 2020

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

"A definitive document of a world in transition: I won't be alone in returning to it for clarity and consolation for many years to come." --Jia Tolentino, author of Trick Mirror: Reflections on Self-Delusion


Super Pumped: The Battle for Uber Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9780393652246
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships from warehouse in several days.
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - September 3rd, 2019

New York Times and Wall Street Journal Bestseller

A New York Times technology correspondent presents the dramatic story of Uber, the Silicon Valley startup at the center of one of the great venture capital power struggles of our time.


9th Ave: Lizzie O'Shea

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

Future Histories: What Ada Lovelace, Tom Paine, and the Paris Commune Can Teach Us About Digital Technology Cover Image

Lizzie O'Shea discusses her new book Future Histories: What Ada Lovelace, Tom Paine, and the Paris Commune Can Teach Us About Digital Technology.

Future Histories: What Ada Lovelace, Tom Paine, and the Paris Commune Can Teach Us About Digital Technology Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781788734301
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Verso - May 14th, 2019

A highly engaging tour through progressive history in the service of emancipating our digital tomorrow.


9th Ave: T.J. Mitchell & Judy Melinek

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

First Cut Cover Image

Judy Melinek and T.J. Mitchell discuss their new novel, First Cut.

Praise for First Cut

First Cut Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781335008305
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Hanover Square Press - January 7th, 2020

A Bustle Most Anticipated Book of January 2020

"Scalpel sharp."--Kathy Reichs

A young rookie medical examiner. A suspicious case. An underworld plot only she saw coming.

From the New York Times bestselling authors of Working Stiff


CANCELED: Deb Olin Unferth and Rita Bullwinkel

 

Barn 8: A Novel Cover Image

This event has been canceled. 

Praise for Barn 8

Barn 8: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781644450154
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Graywolf Press - March 3rd, 2020

An unforgettably exuberant and potent novel by a writer at the height of her powers


Wait Till You See Me Dance: Stories Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555977689
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Graywolf Press - March 21st, 2017

“Deb Olin Unferth’s stories are so smart, fast, full of heart, and distinctive in voice—each an intense little thought-system going out earnestly in search of strange new truths. What an important and exciting talent.”—George Saunders


Belly Up Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9780998518435
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Strange Object - November 15th, 2016

Belly Up is a story collection that contains ghosts, mediums, a lover obsessed with the sound of harps tuning, teenage girls who believe they are actually plants, gulag prisoners who outsmart a terrible warden, and carnivorous churches. Throughout these grotesque and tender stories, characters question the bodies they've been given and what their bodies require to be sustained.


9th Ave: Emily Nemens and Emily Bell

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

The Cactus League: A Novel Cover Image

Emily Nemens discusses her new novel, The Cactus League, with Emily Bell. Part of FSG's Dare to Imagine campaign. 

The Cactus League: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780374117948
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - February 4th, 2020

A Los Angeles Times Bestseller

"In The Cactus League [Emily Nemens] provides her readers with what amounts to a miniature, self-enclosed world that is funny and poignant and lovingly observed." --Charles McGrath, The New York Times Book Review


9th Ave: Jenny Offill and Ethan Nosowsky

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

Jenny Offill discusses her new novel Weather with Ethan Nosowsky.

Praise for Weather

Weather: A novel Cover Image
$23.95
ISBN: 9780385351102
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Knopf - February 11th, 2020

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLER 

From the beloved author of the nationwide best seller Dept. of Speculationone of the New York Times Book Review's Ten Best Books of the Yeara “darkly funny and urgent” (NPR) tour de force about a family, and a nation, in crisis


Dept. of Speculation (Vintage Contemporaries) Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780345806871
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Vintage - October 7th, 2014

From the acclaimed author of Weather comes a slim, stunning portrait of a marriage--a beguiling rumination on the mysteries of intimacy, trust, faith, knowledge, and the condition of universal shipwreck that unites us all.

ONE OF THE 10 BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR - THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW


Last Things (Vintage Contemporaries) Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781101872079
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Vintage - March 17th, 2015

To eight-year-old Grace Davitt, the world is full of strange wonders. Through the eyes of her mother, Anna—an ornithologist who speaks five languages—their small lakeside town in Vermont becomes a glittering mystery filled with secret tongues, monsters in the lake, and birthday parties for the Earth.


9th Ave: Amina Cain and Rita Bullwinkel

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

Indelicacy: A Novel Cover Image

Amina Cain discusses her new novel, Indelicacy, with Rita Bullwinkel.

Praise for Indelicacy

Indelicacy: A Novel Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780374148379
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - February 11th, 2020

FINALIST FOR THE CENTER FOR FICTION'S FIRST NOVEL PRIZE

"Cain’s small but mighty novel reads like a ghost story and packs the punch of a feminist classic." The New York Times Book Review


Creature Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780984469383
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Dorothy a Publishing Project - November 1st, 2013

Fiction. "Amina Cain is a beautiful writer. Like the girl in the rear view mirror in your backseat, quiet, looking out the window half smiling, then not, then glancing at you, curious to her. That is how her thoughts and words make me feel, like clouds hanging with jets, and knowing love is pure."--Thurston Moore


Belly Up Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9780998518435
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Strange Object - November 15th, 2016

Belly Up is a story collection that contains ghosts, mediums, a lover obsessed with the sound of harps tuning, teenage girls who believe they are actually plants, gulag prisoners who outsmart a terrible warden, and carnivorous churches. Throughout these grotesque and tender stories, characters question the bodies they've been given and what their bodies require to be sustained.


9th Ave: Garth Greenwell and R.O. Kwon

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

Cleanness Cover Image

Garth Greenwell discusses his new novel, Cleanness, with R.O. Kwon.

Praise for Cleanness

Cleanness Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780374124588
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - January 14th, 2020

In the highly anticipated follow-up to his beloved debut, What Belongs to You, Garth Greenwell deepens his exploration of foreignness, obligation, and desire

Sofia, Bulgaria, a landlocked city in southern Europe, stirs with hope and impending upheaval. Soviet buildings crumble, wind scatters sand from the far south, and political protesters flood the streets with song.


Staff Pick Badge
What Belongs to You: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781250117892
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Picador - December 20th, 2016

Longlisted for the National Book Award in Fiction • A Finalist for the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction • A Finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Fiction • A Finalist for the James Taite Black Prize for Fiction A Finalist the Center for Fiction First Novel Prize • A Finalist for the Green Carnation Prize A New York Time


The Incendiaries: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780735213906
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Riverhead Books - July 30th, 2019

Now a National Bestseller

"Religion, politics, and love collide in this slim but powerful novel reminiscent of Donna Tartt's The Secret History, with menace and mystery lurking in every corner." --People Magazine


9th Ave: Crissy Van Meter

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

Creatures: A Novel Cover Image

Crissy Van Meter discusses her new novel, Creatures.

Praise for Creatures

Creatures: A Novel Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781616208592
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Algonquin Books - January 7th, 2020

A Belletrist Book Club Selection

“Van Meter’s debut is an unwavering triumph . . .


9th Ave: Miranda Popkey and Rachel Khong

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

Topics of Conversation: A novel Cover Image

Miranda Popkey discusses her debut novel Topics of Conversation with Rachel Khong.

Praise for Topics of Conversation

Topics of Conversation: A novel Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9780525656289
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Knopf - January 7th, 2020

For readers of Sally Rooney, Rachel Cusk, Lydia Davis, and Jenny Offill--a compact tour de force about sex, violence, and self-loathing from a ferociously talented new voice in fiction


Goodbye, Vitamin: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781250182555
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Picador - July 10th, 2018

Named a Best Book of the Year by NPR; O, The Oprah Magazine; Vogue; San Francisco Chronicle; Esquire; Huffington Post; Nylon; Entertainment Weekly; BuzzFeed; Booklist; and The Independent


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Books on the Park