Books on the Park

9th Ave: Amy McCullough

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. store.

 

 

Amy McCullough will regale us with stories from her adventures at sea, as told in The Box Wine Sailors.

 

The Box Wine Sailors: Misadventures of a Broke Young Couple at Sea Cover Image
$18.65
ISBN: 9781613733486
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships 1-10 business days from warehouse. ETA will be updated with email order confirmation.
Published: Chicago Review Press - November 1st, 2015

Amy and Jimmie were not sailors. Their experience included reading a few books, watching a couple of instructional videos, and sailing once a week for a year. They were land-lubberly, middle-class twentysomethings, audacious and in love. All they wanted was to be together and do something extraordinary.


9th Ave: The Dogist

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. store.

 

 

Elias Weiss Friedman, the photographer behind the insanely popular Instagram account The Dogist, will be here to talk about his book of the same name.

 

The Dogist: Photographic Encounters with 1,000 Dogs Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781579656713
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships 1-10 business days from warehouse. ETA will be updated with email order confirmation.
Published: Artisan Publishers - October 20th, 2015

New York Times bestseller


9th Ave: Ian Svenonius

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. store.

 

Censorship Now!! Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781617754098
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Akashic Books - November 3rd, 2015

"While putting a copy of this book on your nightstand would be a sign of good taste, who cares about good taste? Are you willing to be seen reading a book titled Censorship Now in public? If so, your skin might burn with funny glances from squares, scolds and looky-loos.


The Psychic Soviet Cover Image
$20.95
ISBN: 9780965618397
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Drag City - July 24th, 2006

An anthology of both new and previously published essays and articles from one of the mainstays of the Washington, DC underground rock-and-roll scene, The Psychic Soviet is the most complete collection of writings by Ian Svenonius.


Supernatural Strategies for Making a Rock 'n' Roll Group Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781617751301
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Akashic Books - January 1st, 2013

"Proscriptive how-to advice ranges over a wide number of subjects (e.g., sex, band photos, etc.) and can be seen both as skewering the cultural idolatry associated with rock and as genuine counsel.


9th Ave: Litquake presents Fiston Mwanza Mujila

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. store.

 

 

Litquake presents Fiston Mwanza Mujila and translator Roland Glasser, who will discuss Tram 83.

 

Praise for Tram 83:

Tram 83 Cover Image
By Fiston Mwanza Mujila, Roland Glasser (Translator), Alain Mabanckou (Foreword by)
$14.95
ISBN: 9781941920046
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Deep Vellum Publishing - September 8th, 2015

"An exuberantly dark first novel." -- NPR's Fresh Air w/ Terry Gross

**Nominated for the Man Booker International Prize 2016**

**Winner of the 2015 Etisalat Prize for Debut African Fiction**


9th Ave: Jason De Leon

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. store.

 

 

Jason de Leon will discuss his new book, The Land of Open Graves: Living and Dying on the Migrant Trail.

 

The Land of Open Graves: Living and Dying on the Migrant Trail (California Series in Public Anthropology #36) Cover Image
By Jason de Leon, Michael Wells (Photographer)
$29.95
ISBN: 9780520282759
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: University of California Press - October 23rd, 2015

In his gripping and provocative debut, anthropologist Jason De Le n sheds light on one of the most pressing political issues of our time--the human consequences of US immigration policy.


9th Ave: Mary Gaitskill

This event will be held at our 9th Ave store.

 

 

In her only California appearance, Mary Gaitskill will read from her new novel, The Mare.

 

 

The Mare Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780307379740
Availability: Not Available to Order. Call or email for used stock availability.
Published: Pantheon Books - November 3rd, 2015

Following her National Book Award-nominated Veronica, here is Mary Gaitskill's most poignant and powerful work yet--the story of a Dominican girl, the Anglo woman who introduces her to riding, and the horse who changes everything for her.


Bad Behavior: Stories Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781439148877
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Simon & Schuster - July 21st, 2009

A trade paperback reissue of National Book Award finalist Mary Gaitskill's debut collection, Bad Behavior--powerful stories about dislocation, longing, and desire which depict a disenchanted and rebellious urban fringe generation that is searching for human connection.


Veronica (Vintage Contemporaries) Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780375727856
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Vintage - July 18th, 2006

A finalist for the National Book Award and National Book Critics Circle Award, here is an evocative novel about female friendship in the glittering 1980s.


9th Ave: John Keene

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. store.

 

 

Sponsored by The Poetry Center at SF State.

 

John Keene will read from his collection of stories, Counternarratives

Counternarratives Cover Image
$27.45
ISBN: 9780811224345
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships 1-10 business days from warehouse. ETA will be updated with email order confirmation.
Published: New Directions Publishing Corporation - May 21st, 2015

Ranging from the 17th century to our current moment, and crossing multiple continents, Counternarratives' stories and novellas draw upon memoirs, newspaper accounts, detective stories, interrogation transcripts, and speculative fiction to create new and strange perspectives on our past and present.


Annotations (New Directions Paperbook #809) Cover Image
$12.95
ISBN: 9780811213042
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: New Directions Publishing Corporation - October 17th, 1995

An experimental first novel of poem-like compression, Annotations has a great deal to say about growing up Black in St. Louis. Reminiscent of Jean Toomer's Cane, the book is in part a meditation on African-American autobiography. Keene explores questions of identity from many angles - from race to social class to sexuality (gay and straight).


9th Ave: Kristin Hersh in conversation with Anisse Gross

This event will take place at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

 

Staff Pick Logo
Don't Suck, Don't Die: Giving Up Vic Chesnutt (American Music) Cover Image
By Kristin Hersh, Amanda Petrusich (Foreword by)
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780292759473
Availability: Not Available to Order. Call or email for used stock availability.
Published: University of Texas Press - October 1st, 2015

"Friend, asshole, angel, mutant," singer-songwriter Vic Chesnutt "came along and made us gross and broken people seem . . . I dunno, cooler, I guess." A quadriplegic who could play only simple chords on his guitar, Chesnutt recorded seventeen critically acclaimed albums before his death in 2009, including About to Choke, North Star Deserter, and At the Cut.


Rat Girl Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143117391
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships 1-10 business days from warehouse. ETA will be updated with email order confirmation.
Published: Penguin Books - August 31st, 2010

The founder of a cult rock band shares her outrageous tale of growing up much faster than planned.


9th Ave: Steve Toltz in conversation with Antonia Hayes

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. store.

 

 

Quicksand Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781476797823
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Simon & Schuster - September 15th, 2015

A daring, brilliant new novel from Man Booker Prize finalist Steve Toltz, for fans of Dave Eggers, Martin Amis, and David Foster Wallace: a fearlessly funny, outrageously inventive dark comedy about two lifelong friends.


A Fraction of the Whole Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780385521734
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships 1-10 business days from warehouse. ETA will be updated with email order confirmation.
Published: Spiegel & Grau - September 23rd, 2008

Meet the Deans

"The fact is, the whole of Australia despises my father more than any other man, just as they adore my uncle more than any other man. I might as well set the story straight about both of them . . ."

Heroes or Criminals?
Crackpots or Visionaries?
Families or Enemies?

." . . Anyway, you know how it is. Every family has a story like this one."


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Books on the Park