Books on the Park

9th Ave: Elaine Castillo

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Elaine Castillo discusses her debut novel, America Is Not The Heart.

 

Praise for America Is Not The Heart

America Is Not the Heart Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780735222410
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Viking - April 3rd, 2018

"A saga rich with origin myths, national and personal . . . Castillo is part of a younger generation of American writers instilling literature with a layered sense of identity." --Vogue

How many lives fit in a lifetime?


9th Ave: Rodrigo Fresán

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Rodrigo Fresán discusses his new novel, The Bottom of the Sky.

 

Praise for Rodrigo Fresán

Bottom of the Sky Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781940953786
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Open Letter - May 29th, 2018

At its core, The Bottom of the Sky is a novel about two young boys in love with other planets and a disturbingly beautiful girl. An homage to the history of American science fiction, it's also about the Gulf War, 9/11, and a mysterious "incident." It's like a Kurt Vonnegut novel told by David Lynch through the lens of Philip K. Dick.


The Invented Part Cover Image
By Rodrigo Fresan, Will Vanderhyden (Translator)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781940953564
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships 1-10 business days from warehouse. ETA will be updated with email order confirmation.
Published: Open Letter - May 16th, 2017

"A kaleidoscopic, open-hearted, shamelessly polymathic storyteller, the kind who brings a blast of oxygen into the room."--Jonathan Lethem


9th Ave: R.O. Kwon Book Release

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Join us on Tuesday, July 31st to celebrate the release of R.O. Kwon's debut novel, The Incendiaries. R.O. will be in conversation with Esmé Weijun Wang.

 

The Incendiaries Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780735213890
Availability: Coming Soon. Available for Pre-Order Now!
Published: Riverhead Books - July 31st, 2018

"In dazzlingly acrobatic prose, R. O. Kwon explores the lines between faith and fanaticism, passion and violence, the rational and the unknowable." --Celeste Ng, New York Times bestselling author of Little Fires Everywhere


The Border of Paradise Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781939419699
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Unnamed Press - April 12th, 2016

A remarkable multigenerational novel, The Border of Paradise transports readers into the world of an iconoclastic midcentury family.

In booming postwar Brooklyn, the Nowak Piano Company is an American success story. There is just one problem: the Nowak's only son, David. A handsome kid and shy like his mother, David struggles with neuroses.


9th Ave: Aja Gabel and Vanessa Hua

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Aja Gabel discusses her new novel, The Ensemble with Vanessa Hua.

 

Praise for The Ensemble

The Ensemble Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780735214767
Availability: Coming Soon. Available for Pre-Order Now!
Published: Riverhead Books - May 15th, 2018

The addictive novel about four young friends navigating a cutthroat world and their complex relationships with each other, as ambition, passion, and love intertwine over the course of their lives.


9th Ave: Poe Ballantine

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Poe Ballantine discusses his new novel, Whirlaway.

 

Praise for Poe Ballantine

 

Whirlaway Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780997068399
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Hawthorne Books - April 1st, 2018

Eddie Plum, who insists he's been unjustifiably committed to a California psychiatric hospital, manages to finally escape after fourteen years of incarceration to start his life anew.


Love & Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere Cover Image
By Poe Ballantine, Cheryl Strayed (Introduction by)
$16.95
ISBN: 9780983477549
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships 1-10 business days from warehouse. ETA will be updated with email order confirmation.
Published: Hawthorne Books - September 3rd, 2013

Fans of Truman Capote's In Cold Blood and John Berendt's Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil will embrace Poe Ballantine's Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere.


God Clobbers Us All Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780971691544
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships 1-10 business days from warehouse. ETA will be updated with email order confirmation.
Published: Hawthorne Books - May 1st, 2004

Set against the decaying halls of a San Diego rest home in the 1970s, God Clobbers Us All is the shimmering, hysterical, and melancholy account of eighteen-year-old surfer-boy orderly, Edgar Donahoe, and his struggles with romance, death, friendship, and an ill-advised affair with the wife of a maladjusted war veteran.


9th Ave: Signs of Resistance

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Bonnie Siegler discusses her new book, Signs of Resistance: A Visual History of Protest in America with Roman Mars.

 

Signs of Resistance: A Visual History of Protest in America Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781579658663
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Artisan Publishers - February 20th, 2018

"Clever images of dissent are not a recent phenomenon in the United States. . . . Signs of Resistance is] visually fascinating. . . . and] there is bigly wit here, too."
--The Washington Post


9th Ave: Aline Kominsky-Crumb and Hillary Chute

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Legendary cartoonist Aline Kominsky-Crumb discusses Love That Bunch with Hillary Chute.

 

Love That Bunch Cover Image
$29.95
ISBN: 9781770463059
Availability: Coming Soon. Available for Pre-Order Now!
Published: Drawn & Quarterly - May 1st, 2018

Why Comics?: From Underground to Everywhere Cover Image
$40.00
ISBN: 9780062476807
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Harper - December 5th, 2017

The massive impact that comics have had on our culture becomes more and more clear every day, from the critically acclaimed musical Fun Home, based on Alison Bechdel's groundbreaking comic, to the dozens of superhero films hitting cinemas every year. What is it that makes comics so special? What can this unique art form do that others can't?


9th Ave: Rachel Kushner

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Rachel Kushner discusses her new novel, The Mars Room.

 

Prasie for Rachel Kushner

The Mars Room Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781476756554
Availability: Coming Soon. Available for Pre-Order Now!
Published: Scribner Book Company - May 1st, 2018

From twice National Book Award-nominated Rachel Kushner, whose Flamethrowers was called "the best, most brazen, most interesting book of the year" (Kathryn Schulz, New York magazine), comes a spectacularly compelling, heart-stopping novel about a life gone off the rails in contemporary America.


The Flamethrowers Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781439142011
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Scribner Book Company - January 14th, 2014

NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST * NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS BY THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW * New York magazine's #1 Book of the Year * Best Book of 2013 by: The Wall Street Journal; Vogue; O, The Oprah Magazine; Los Angeles Times; The San Francisco Chronicle; The New Yorker; Time; Flavorwire; Salon; Slate; Th


The Strange Case of Rachel K Cover Image
$10.95
ISBN: 9780811225533
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: New Directions Publishing Corporation - September 6th, 2016

Telex from Cuba Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781416561040
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Scribner Book Company - June 2nd, 2009

From the National Book Award Finalist and New York Times bestselling author of The Flamethrowers, an astonishingly wise, ambitious, and riveting novel set in the American community in Cuba during the years leading up to Castro's revolution--a place that was a paradise for a time and for a few.


9th Ave: Roman Muradov

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Roman Muradov discusses his new book, On Doing Nothing: Finding Inspiration in Idleness.

 

Praise for On Doing Nothing

On Doing Nothing: Finding Inspiration in Idleness Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781452164267
Availability: Backordered
Published: Chronicle Books - April 3rd, 2018

In an age of obsessive productivity and stress, this illustrated ode to idleness invites readers to explore the pleasures and possibilities of slowing down. Beloved author and illustrator Roman Muradov weaves together the words and stories of artists, writers, philosophers, and eccentrics who have pursued inspiration by doing less.


In a Sense Lost and Found Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781907704956
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Nobrow Press - September 16th, 2014

The first graphic novel by rising star Roman Muradov explores the theme of innocence by treating it as a tangible object--something that can be used, lost, mistreated. Roman Muradov's crisp delicate style conjures a world of strange bookstores and absurd conspiracies.


Jacob Bladders and the State of the Art Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781941250105
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Uncivilized Books - December 13th, 2016

Jacob Bladders: illustrator, braggart, and victim of assault by thugs sent by the mysterious Charlie. Part satire of commercial art, part noirish detective story, part puzzle to be solved or left in pieces. Roman Muradov's latest is an ink-smeared Blakean vision of 1940s New York where Twitter exists as a network of pneumatic tubes, but artwork is still delivered by hand.


9th Ave: Meaghan O'Connell and Lydia Kiesling

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Meaghan O'Connell discusses her new memoir, And Now We Have Everything: On Motherhood Before I was Ready with Lydia Kiesling.

 

And Now We Have Everything: On Motherhood Before I Was Ready Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780316393843
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Little Brown and Company - April 10th, 2018

One of the most anticipated books of 2018 -- Esquire, Elle, Nylon, Huffington Post, The Boston Globe, The Rumpus, GoodReads, The Millions, BookRiot, Bustle, The Week.
"Smart, funny, and true in all the best ways, this book made me ache with recognition." -- Cheryl Strayed


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Books on the Park