Books on the Park

9th Ave: Kimberly Reyes

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

Kimberly Reyes reads from her new book, Running to Stand Still. Also featuring readings from Jennifer Lewis, Truong Tran, and Kar Johnson.

Praise for Running to Stand Still

Running to Stand Still Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781632430724
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Omnidawn - October 15th, 2019

Histories, stories, lyrics, aspirations, dreams, pressures, and images are spun into a musical tale through a site of convergence: the Black female body. Swarmed by external gazes and narratives, the inhabitant of this body uses her power to turn down this cacophony of noise and compose a symphonic space for herself.


CANCELED: Joanne McNeil and Jenny Odell

This event has been canceled.

Lurking: How a Person Became a User Cover Image

This event has been canceled.

Praise for Lurking

Lurking: How a Person Became a User Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780374194338
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: MCD - February 25th, 2020

A concise but wide-ranging personal history of the internet from—for the first time—the point of view of the user


How to Do Nothing: Resisting the Attention Economy Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781612197494
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Melville House - April 9th, 2019

** A New York Times Bestseller **

"A complex, smart and ambitious book that at first reads like a self-help manual, then blossoms into a wide-ranging political manifesto."—Jonah Engel Bromwich, The New York Times Book Review

One of President Barack Obama's "Favorite Books of 2019"


CANCELED: Ottessa Moshfegh and Stephen Sparks

 

Death in Her Hands: A Novel Cover Image

This event has been canceled.

Praise for Death in Her Hands

Death in Her Hands: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781984879356
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Penguin Press - June 23rd, 2020

"[An] intricate and unsettling new novel . . . Death in Her Hands is not a murder mystery, nor is it really a story about self-deception or the perils of escapism. Rather, it's a haunting meditation on the nature and meaning of art."
-Kevin Power, The New Yorker


My Year of Rest and Relaxation: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780525522133
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Penguin Books - June 25th, 2019

Entertainment Weekly’s #1 Book of 2018

“One of the most compelling protagonists modern fiction has offered in years: a loopy, quietly furious pillhead whose Ambien ramblings and Xanaxed b*tcheries somehow wend their way through sad and funny and strange toward something genuinely profound.”
— Entertainment Weekly 


Staff Pick Badge
Eileen: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143128755
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Penguin Books - August 16th, 2016

Shortlisted for the 2016 Man Booker Prize and chosen by David Sedaris as his recommended book for his Fall 2016 tour. 


Homesick for Another World: Stories Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780399562907
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Penguin Books - December 5th, 2017

New York Times Book Review Notable Book of 2017

An electrifying first collection from one of the most exciting short story writers of our time

"I can’t recall the last time I laughed this hard at a book. Simultaneously, I’m shocked and scandalized. She’s brilliant, this young woman."—David Sedaris


Staff Pick Badge
McGlue: A Novella Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780525522768
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Penguin Books - January 8th, 2019

The debut novella from one of contemporary fiction's most exciting young voices, now in a new edition.


9th Ave: Danielle Svetcov

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

Parked Cover Image

Danielle Svetcov discusses her new book, Parked.

Praise for Parked

Parked Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399539039
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Dial Books - February 4th, 2020

For fans of Rebecca Stead and Joan Bauer comes a scrappy, poignant, uplifting debut about family, friendship, and the importance of learning both how to offer help and how to accept it.

"A big-hearted novel with characters I wish were my friends in real life." --Gennifer Choldenko, author of the Al Capone at Alcatraz series


CANCELED: Aaron Smith, sam sax and Randall Mann

 

The Book of Daniel: Poems (Pitt Poetry Series) Cover Image

This event has been canceled.

Praise for The Book of Daniel

The Book of Daniel: Poems (Pitt Poetry Series) Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780822965961
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships from warehouse in several days.
Published: University of Pittsburgh Press - October 1st, 2019

A tour de force, Aaron Smith’s fourth collection of poetry, The Book of Daniel, resists the easy satisfactions of Beauty while managing the contemporary entanglements of art, sex, and grief. Part pop-thriller, part queer rage, and part mourning, these poems depict not only the complications of representation in the age of social media but a critique of identity.


Bury It (Wesleyan Poetry) Cover Image
By Sam Sax
$14.95
ISBN: 9780819577313
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Wesleyan University Press - September 4th, 2018

sam sax's bury it, winner of the 2017 James Laughlin Award from the Academy of American Poets, begins with poems written in response to the spate of highly publicized young gay suicides in the summer of 2010. What follows are raw and expertly crafted meditations on death, rituals of passage, translation, desire, diaspora, and personhood.


Proprietary: Poems Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780892554812
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Persea - May 16th, 2017

In Proprietary, Randall Mann critiques corporate culture, depicting (and slyly rebuking) the American materialism that erupted in the 1980s and has metastasized ever since. “Please consider / Ocean Beach / out of reach,” he writes; in these poems, nothing is beyond the reach of his acuity.


CANCELED: John Kaag

 

Sick Souls, Healthy Minds: How William James Can Save Your Life Cover Image

This event has been canceled. 

Praise for Sick Souls, Healthy Minds

Sick Souls, Healthy Minds: How William James Can Save Your Life Cover Image
$22.95
ISBN: 9780691192161
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Princeton University Press - March 17th, 2020

From the celebrated author of American Philosophy: A Love Story and Hiking with Nietzsche, a compelling introduction to the life-affirming philosophy of William James


CANCELED: Emily St. John Mandel

 

The Glass Hotel: A novel Cover Image

The Glass Hotel: A novel Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780525521143
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Knopf - March 24th, 2020

LONGLISTED FOR THE GILLER PRIZE

"The Glass Hotel may be the perfect novel for your survival bunker."
--Ron Charles, The Washington Post


Station Eleven Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780804172448
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Vintage - June 2nd, 2015

An audacious, darkly glittering novel set in the eerie days of civilization’s collapse, Station Eleven tells the spellbinding story of a Hollywood star, his would-be savior, and a nomadic group of actors roaming the scattered outposts of the Great Lakes region, risking everything for art and humanity. 

A National Book Award Finalist


Staff Pick Badge
Last Night in Montreal Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781101911952
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Vintage - August 4th, 2015

When Lilia Albert was a child, her father appeared on the doorstep of her mother's house and took her away. Now, haunted by an inability to remember much about her early childhood, Lilia moves restlessly from city to city, abandoning lovers and eluding the private detective who has dedicated a career to following close behind.


The Singer's Gun Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101911976
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Vintage - August 4th, 2015

Everyone Anton Waker grew up with is corrupt. His parents dealt in stolen goods, and he was a successful purveyor of forged documents until he abandoned it all in his early twenties, determined to live a normal life, complete with career, apartment, and a fiancée who knows nothing of his criminal beginnings.


The Lola Quartet: A Suspense Thriller Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781101911990
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Vintage - August 4th, 2015

Gavin Sasaki was a promising young journalist in New York City until the day he was fired for plagiarism. The last thing he wants is to sell foreclosed real estate for his sister Eilo’s company in their Florida hometown, but he’s in no position to refuse her job offer.


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Books on the Park