Books on the Park

9th Ave: Jeff VanderMeer

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

Dead Astronauts: A Novel Cover Image

Jeff VanderMeer joins us to discuss his new novel, Dead Astronauts.

Praise for Jeff VanderMeer

Pre-Order Now Badge
Dead Astronauts: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780374276805
Availability: Coming Soon. Pre-Order Now!
Published: MCD - December 3rd, 2019

A messianic blue fox who slips through warrens of time and space on a mysterious mission. A homeless woman haunted by a demon who finds the key to all things in a strange journal. A giant leviathan of a fish, centuries old, who hides a secret, remembering a past that may not be its own. Three ragtag rebels waging an endless war for the fate of the world against an all-powerful corporation.


Borne: A Novel Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780374537654
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: MCD - February 27th, 2018

Named one of the best books of 2017 by The Los Angeles Times, The Boston Globe, PopSugar, Financial Times, Chicago Review of Books, Huffington Post, San Francisco Chronicle, Thrillist, Book Riot, National Post (Canada), Kirkus and Publishers Weekly

“Am I a person?” Borne asked me.


Annihilation: A Novel (The Southern Reach Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$14.00
ISBN: 9780374104092
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: FSG Originals - February 4th, 2014

SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE

The Southern Reach Trilogy begins with this Nebula Award-winning novel that "reads as if Verne or Wellsian adventurers exploring a mysterious island had warped through into a Kafkaesque nightmare world" (Kim Stanley Robinson).


Authority: A Novel (The Southern Reach Trilogy #2) Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780374104108
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: FSG Originals - May 6th, 2014

After thirty years, the only human engagement with Area X—a seemingly malevolent landscape surrounded by an invisible border and mysteriously wiped clean of all signs of civilization—has been a series of expeditions overseen by a government agency so secret it has almost been forgotten: the Southern Reach.


Acceptance: A Novel (The Southern Reach Trilogy #3) Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780374104115
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: FSG Originals - September 2nd, 2014

It is winter in Area X, the mysterious wilderness that has defied explanation for thirty years, rebuffing expedition after expedition, refusing to reveal its secrets. As Area X expands, the agency tasked with investigating and overseeing it--the Southern Reach--has collapsed on itself in confusion.


Area X: The Southern Reach Trilogy: Annihilation; Authority; Acceptance Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9780374261177
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: FSG Originals - November 18th, 2014

A single-volume hardcover edition that brings together the three volumes of the Southern Reach Trilogy, which were originally published as paperback originals in February, May, and September 2014.

Annihilation is the first volume in Jeff VanderMeer's Southern Reach trilogy, Authority is the second, and Acceptance is the third.


9th Ave: Cherríe Moraga

This event will be held at our 9th ave. location.

Native Country of the Heart: A Memoir Cover Image

Cherríe Moraga discusses her new memoir, Native Country of the Heart.

Praise for Native Country of the Heart

Native Country of the Heart: A Memoir Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780374219666
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships 1-10 business days from warehouse. ETA will be updated with email order confirmation.
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - April 2nd, 2019

"This memoir's beauty is in its fierce intimacy." --Roy Hoffman, The New York Times Book Review

One of Literary Hub's Most Anticipated Books of 2019


This Bridge Called My Back, Fourth Edition: Writings by Radical Women of Color Cover Image
By Cherrie Moraga (Editor), Gloria Anzaldua (Editor)
$29.95
ISBN: 9781438454382
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: State University Press of New York (Suny) - March 2015

Bronze Medalist, 2016 Independent Publisher Book Awards in the Anthologies Category


9th Ave: Esti Skloot

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

Uprooted: Memoir Cover Image

Esti Skloot discusses her new book, Uprooted: A Memoir of a Marriage.

About Uprooted

Uprooted: Memoir Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781631526640
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships 1-10 business days from warehouse. ETA will be updated with email order confirmation.
Published: She Writes Press - August 20th, 2019

When pregnant Esther--a young, adventurous, British-born Israeli--follows her new husband, Steve, to America, she has no idea what she's getting herself into. Even before their baby is born, Esther discovers the dark side of her charming film production manager husband, and learns that she must cope with his moodiness and domineering personality.


9th Ave: Elizabeth Chiles Shelburne

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

Holding on to Nothing Cover Image

Elizabeth Chiles Shelburne discusses her new novel, Holding on to Nothing.

Praise for Holding on to Nothing

Pre-Order Now Badge
Holding on to Nothing Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781949467086
Availability: Coming Soon. Pre-Order Now!
Published: Blair - October 22nd, 2019

Lucy Kilgore has her bags packed for her escape from her rural Tennessee upbringing, but a drunken mistake forever tethers her to the town and one of its least-admired residents, Jeptha Taylor, who becomes the father of her child.


9th Ave: Gary Janetti

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

Do You Mind If I Cancel?: (Things That Still Annoy Me) Cover Image

Gary Janetti discusses his new book, Do You Mind If I Cancel? (Things That Still Annoy Me).

Praise for Do You Mind If I Cancel?

Pre-Order Now Badge
Do You Mind If I Cancel?: (Things That Still Annoy Me) Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250225825
Availability: Coming Soon. Pre-Order Now!
Published: Flatiron Books - October 22nd, 2019

Fans of David Sedaris, Jenny Lawson, and Tina Fey… meet your new friend Gary Janetti.

"Gary Janetti's book is so rolling-on-the-floor funny, so brilliantly observant, and so full of heart.” Kevin Kwan, New York Times bestselling author of the Crazy Rich Asians trilogy


9th Ave: Giacomo Sartori

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

I Am God Cover Image

Italian writer Giacomo Sartori discusses his new novel, I Am God.

Praise for I Am God

I Am God: A Novel Cover Image
By Giacomo Sartori, Frederika Randall (Translated by)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781632062147
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Restless Books - February 5th, 2019

Diabolically funny and subversively philosophical, Italian novelist Giacomo Sartori’s I am God is the diary of the Almighty’s existential crisis that ensues when he falls in love with a human.

I am God. Have been forever, will be forever.


9th Ave: Mimi Lok and Rachel Khong

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

Last of Her Name Cover Image

Mimi Lok discusses her new book, Last Of Her Name, with Rachel Khong.

Praise for Last Of Her Name

Last of Her Name Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781885030610
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Kaya Press - October 22nd, 2019

Mimi Lok's Last of Her Name is an eye-opening story collection about the intimate, interconnected lives of diasporic women and the histories they are born into.


9th Ave: A Night of Board Games with Eric Thurm

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

Avidly Reads Board Games Cover Image

Pre-Order Now Badge
Avidly Reads Board Games Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781479826957
Availability: Coming Soon. Pre-Order Now!
Published: New York University Press - October 8th, 2019

Avidly Reads is a series of short books about how culture makes us feel. Founded in 2012 by Sarah Blackwood and Sarah Mesle, Avidly--an online magazine supported by the Los Angeles Review of Books--specializes in short-form critical essays devoted to thinking and feeling.


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Books on the Park