Books on the Park

9th Ave: On the Cusp celebrating Bearded Lady

Cover of Allison Landa's memoir Bearded Lady. The cover is a photo of a hot pink table top with a cup of hot hair removal wax in a cup, and wax applicator sticks scattered around, with the title and author's name written on two of them.

Pre-Order Now Badge
Bearded Lady: When You’re a Woman with a Beard, Your Secret is Written All Over Your Face By Allison Landa Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781954907386
Availability: Coming Soon. Pre-Order Now!
Published: Woodhall Press - October 4th, 2022

The beard was never far from my mind. Twice daily, I shaved. I blended foundation into my skin with a practiced touch. I hoped for the miracle that never showed its face: smooth skin instead of the prickly surface I felt every time I ran my hand across my chin and down my cheeks. It took years of struggle, of ducking and diving, to finally obtain a diagnosis and treatment.


9th Ave: Rebecca Handler Signing and Tattoos


Pre-Order Now Badge
Edie Richter Is Not Alone By Rebecca Handler Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781951213459
Availability: Coming Soon. Pre-Order Now!
Published: Unnamed Press - October 4th, 2022

"Oh how I love this book. I finished Edie Richter Is Not Alone in one sitting, then reread it immediately. Hilariously heartbreakingly honest on every page, Rebecca Handler's novel is that rare thing: a perfect book." --Andrew Sean Greer, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Less



9th Ave: Hua Hsu with José Vadi

Cover of Hua Hsu's memoir Stay True. The cover is tangerine with yellow bold text for the title and author name on the top and bottom. In the center is a photo of the author holding a camera up to his face with a beach in the background, observably taken in the 90s or 2000s.

Stay True: A Memoir By Hua Hsu Cover Image
By Hua Hsu
$26.00
ISBN: 9780385547772
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Doubleday - September 27th, 2022

From the New Yorker staff writer Hua Hsu, a gripping memoir on friendship, grief, the search for self, and the solace that can be found through art.


Inter State: Essays from California By Jose Vadi Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781593766955
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Soft Skull - September 14th, 2021

A "must read" debut collection of poetic, linked essays investigating the past and present state of California, its conflicting histories and their impact on a writer's family and life (Los Angeles Times).


9th Ave: Brenda Hillman with Forrest Gander


Pre-Order Now Badge
In a Few Minutes Before Later (Wesleyan Poetry) By Brenda Hillman Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780819500151
Availability: Coming Soon. Pre-Order Now!
Published: Wesleyan University Press - October 4th, 2022

Hillman's] work is fierce but loving, risk-taking, and beautiful. --Harvard Review


Extra Hidden Life, Among the Days By Brenda Hillman Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780819578945
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships from warehouse in several days.
Published: Wesleyan University Press - March 4th, 2019

Poetry of grief and sustenance from an award-winning poet


Pre-Order Now Badge
Knot By Forrest Gander, Jack Shear (Photographer) Cover Image
By Forrest Gander, Jack Shear (Photographer)
$25.00
ISBN: 9781556596711
Availability: Coming Soon. Pre-Order Now!
Published: Copper Canyon Press - November 1st, 2022

Twice Alive By Forrest Gander Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780811230292
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: New Directions - May 4th, 2021

An exciting new book about renewal by the winner of the 2019 Pulitzer Prize for Poetry


9th Ave: Helen Benedict with J. Malcolm Garcia

Cover of Helen Bendeict and Eyad Awwadawnan's Map of Hope and Sorrow. The cover is an abstract painting of reds, purples, yellows, blues, oranges, like puddles of rain overlapping one another. The title is written in bold what font in the center of the cover.

Pre-Order Now Badge
Map of Hope and Sorrow: Stories of Refugees Trapped in Greece By Helen Benedict, Eyad Awwadawnan Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781804440018
Availability: Coming Soon. Pre-Order Now!
Published: Footnote Press - October 18th, 2022

The stories of refugees who fled violence or persecution only to become trapped in the worst refugee camps in Europe.

Helen Benedict, award-winning British-American professor of journalism at Columbia University, teams up with Syrian writer and refugee, Eyad Awwadawnan, to present the stories of five refugees who have endured long and dangerous journeys from the Middle East and Afric


Most Dangerous, Most Unmerciful: Stories from Afghanistan By J. Malcolm Garcia Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781644212035
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Seven Stories Press - August 30th, 2022

Timely literary reporting from Afghanistan by one of our most important nonfiction writers includes insightful new writing since the US pull-out in 2021.
 


9th Ave: Sorayya Khan with Shanthi Sekaran

Cover of Sorayya Khan's We Carry our Cities with Us. The cover is a slate gray with illustrations cascading down, beginning with a multicolor cityscape and turning into botanicals toward the bottom.

Pre-Order Now Badge
We Take Our Cities with Us: A Memoir (Machete) By Sorayya Khan Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9780814258484
Availability: Coming Soon. Pre-Order Now!
Published: Mad Creek Books - November 7th, 2022

Even when we leave them, our cities never leave us. After her Dutch mother’s death, Sorayya Khan confronts her grief by revisiting their relationship, her parents’ lives, and her own Pakistani-Dutch heritage in a multicultural memoir that unfolds over seven cities and three continents. We Take Our Cities with Us ushers us from Khan&rsquo


City of Spies By Sorayya Khan Cover Image
$16.45
Temporarily Unavailable
ISBN: 9781503941588
Published: Little a - September 19th, 2017

In this intimate coming-of-age story set in the late 1970s, a young girl struggles to make sense of the chaos around her during Pakistan's political upheaval, where the military revolts, the embassy burns, and a terrible secret tears her world apart.


Lucky Boy By Shanthi Sekaran Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101982266
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - September 5th, 2017

A gripping tale of adventure and searing reality, Lucky Boy gives voice to two mothers bound together by their love for one lucky boy.

“Sekaran has written a page-turner that’s touching and all too real.”—People


The Samosa Rebellion By Shanthi Sekaran Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780063051539
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships from warehouse in several days.
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - September 21st, 2021

Critically acclaimed author Shanthi Sekaran makes her middle grade debut with this timely and stunning novel in which a young boy and his friends must rescue his grandmother from a relocation camp after their country’s descent into xenophobia. Perfect for fans of The Night Diary and Front Desk.


POSTPONED 9th Ave: Charles Johnson

Cover of Charles Johnson's "All Your Racial Problems Will Soon End: The Cartoons of Charles Johnson." The cover is read, and the title and subtitle are written in white and black font, respectively. On the cover is a Johnson cartoon. There are drawings of white partygoers in the background, and in the foreground, sitting on the couch, is an older white woman leaning in with a smile to a Black militant man leaning away from her with at best disinterest and at most disgust.</body></html>

Pre-Order Now Badge
All Your Racial Problems Will Soon End: The Cartoons of Charles Johnson By Charles Johnson Cover Image
$34.95
ISBN: 9781681376738
Availability: Coming Soon. Pre-Order Now!
Published: New York Review Comics - November 8th, 2022

Years before he wrote his National Book Award–winning novel Middle Passage, Charles Johnson created these sidesplitting and subversive gag comics about Black life in America, now collected for the first time in nearly half a century.


Night Hawks: Stories By Charles Johnson Cover Image
$17.60
Temporarily Unavailable
ISBN: 9781501184390
Published: Scribner - May 7th, 2019

From National Book Award winner Charles Johnson, “the celebrated novelist, short story writer, screenwriter, and essayist…comes a small treasure, one to be read and considered and reread” (The New York Times Book Review), showcasing his incredible range and resonant voice.

Charles Johnson’s Night Hawks presents an eclectic, masterf


Middle Passage: A Novel By Charles Johnson Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780684855882
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships from warehouse in several days.
Published: Scribner - July 1st, 1998

A twenty-fifth anniversary edition of Charles Johnson’s National Book Award-winning masterpiece—"a novel in the tradition of Billy Budd and Moby-Dick…heroic in proportion…fiction that hooks the mind" (The New York Times Book Review)—now with a new introduction from Stanley Crouch.

Rutherford Calhoun, a newly freed slave and irrepre


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Books on the Park