Books on the Park

9th Ave: Lidia Yuknavitch

Cover of Lidia Yuknavitch's novel Thrust. It has an illustration of a naked figure riding a sea turtle with a red saddle

Pre-Order Now Badge
Thrust: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780525534907
Availability: Coming Soon. Pre-Order Now!
Published: Riverhead Books - June 28th, 2022

As rising waters—and an encroaching police state—endanger her life and family, a girl with the gifts of a "carrier" travels through water and time to rescue vulnerable figures from the margins of history


Verge Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780525534884
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Riverhead Books - February 2nd, 2021

LONGLISTED FOR THE STORY PRIZE

Named one of the Best Books of the Year by Bustle and Lit Hub


A fiercely empathetic group portrait of the marginalized and outcast in moments of crisis, from one of the most galvanizing voices in American fiction.


9th Ave: Fariha Róisín

The cover of Fariha Roisin's Who is Wellness For? It's a watercolor painting of horizontal stripes, of tan, yellow, salmon, and brown.

Pre-Order Now Badge
Who Is Wellness For?: An Examination of Wellness Culture and Who It Leaves Behind Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780063077089
Availability: Coming Soon. Pre-Order Now!
Published: Harper Wave - June 14th, 2022

The multi-disciplinary artist and author of Like a Bird and How to Cure a Ghost explores the commodification and appropriation of wellness through the lens of social justice, providing resources to help anyone participate in self-care, regardless of race, identity, socioeconomic status or able-bodiedness.


Like a Bird Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781951213442
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Unnamed Press - August 3rd, 2021

A revolutionary story of empowerment and redemption, Like a Bird is the highly anticipated debut novel from Fariha R is n, author of the poetry collection How to Cure A Ghost
One of Vogue and Refinery29's Most Anticipated Books of the Fall


How to Cure a Ghost Cover Image
By Fariha Róisín, Monica Ramos (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781419737565
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Abrams Image - September 24th, 2019

A poetry compilation recounting a woman’s journey from self-loathing to self-acceptance, confusion to clarity, and bitterness to forgiveness
 
Following in the footsteps of such category killers as Milk and Honey and Whiskey Words & a Shovel I, Fariha Róisín’s poetry book is a collection of her thoughts as a young, queer, Muslim femme naviga


9th Ave: Sloane Crosley

Cover of Sloane Crosley's novel, Cult Classic. There is an almost-psychedlic drawing of a three doorways, made up of carved facial silhouettes facing one another, and all lead to a blue, feminine figure at the very center of the cover, or end of the illustration's hallway. The doorways are marroon, fuschia, and magenta, with red carpet.

Pre-Order Now Badge
Cult Classic: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780374603397
Availability: Coming Soon. Pre-Order Now!
Published: MCD - June 7th, 2022

Hilariously insightful and delightfully suspenseful, Cult Classic is an original: a masterfully crafted tale of love, memory, morality, and mind control, as well as a fresh foray into the philosophy of romance.

MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK of 2022 by Glamour, W, Nylon, Fortune, Lit Hub, The Millions, and more!


Look Alive Out There: Essays Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781250310415
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Picador - April 2nd, 2019

Named a Most Anticipated Book of 2018 by Entertainment Weekly, Glamour, Buzzfeed, Elle, Cosmopolitan, The Millions, InStyle, Bustle, BookRiot, and Southern Living

Sloane Crosley returns to the form that made her a household name in really quite a lot of households: Essays!


9th Ave: Tsering Yangzom Lama and Shruti Swamy

The cover of We Measure the Earth with Our Bodies. The cover is a very light lavender, with cut outs of mountains made from different textiles in pink, red, green, and yellow.

We Measure the Earth with Our Bodies Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781635576412
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - May 17th, 2022

Named a Most Anticipated Book by:
The Millions * Ms. Magazine * Bustle
For readers of Homegoing and The Leavers, a compelling and profound debut novel about a Tibetan family's journey through exile.


The Archer Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781616209902
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Algonquin Books - September 7th, 2021

“Set in 1970s Bombay, the novel explores art, ambition, gender roles and class with the same shimmering prose of Swamy’s first book, the story collection A House Is a Body.”
San Francisco Chronicle

“[A] sublime, boundary-pushing exploration of sexuality, creativity, and love.”
—NPR

&


9th Ave: Shelly Oria

The cover of I Know What's Best for You, edited by Shelly Oria. The cover is red, and the title is in a black script in the center of the cover.

Pre-Order Now Badge
I Know What's Best for You Cover Image
By Shelly Oria (Editor), Tommy Orange (Contribution by), R. O. Kwon (Contribution by)
$21.99
ISBN: 9781952119217
Availability: Coming Soon. Pre-Order Now!
Published: McSweeney's - June 7th, 2022

Edited by Shelly Oria--author and editor of Indelible in the Hippocampus--this explosive, intersectional collection of essays, fiction, poems, plays, and more, explores the universality of human reproductive experiences, as well as their distinct individuality.


9th Ave: Lubna Safi

Cover of Lubna Safi's Your Blue and the Quiet Lamnet. It has an image of rolling hills in blue on the front, the hills becoming a dark blue the closer to they are to the bottom of the cover. Some letters from the title of the book are slightly eclipsed by the tops of the hills.

Pre-Order Now Badge
Your Blue and the Quiet Lament: Poems Cover Image
By Lubna Safi, Rachel Mennies (Foreword by)
$21.95
ISBN: 9781682831397
Availability: Coming Soon. Pre-Order Now!
Published: Texas Tech University Press - June 7th, 2022

Your Blue and the Quiet Lament records the textures of grief after a cousin's murder at the hands of the Syrian state reaches the poet through a long-distance phone call. The poems trace a narrative of arrest, imprisonment, and torture in Syria and interweave the difficulties a family experiences in the diaspora.


9th Ave: Elif Batuman with Rachel Khong

Cover of Elif Batuman's Either/Or. The cover has a light yellow background, and "Either/Or" is written in two columns multiple times down the cover. There is a red light going between some of the words, like a maze, and ends as an arrow pointing to the words "A Novel" written in red.

Pre-Order Now Badge
Either/Or Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525557593
Availability: Coming Soon. Pre-Order Now!
Published: Penguin Press - May 24th, 2022

“Batuman has a gift for making the universe seem, somehow, like the benevolent and witty literary seminar you wish it were . . .This novel wins you over in a million micro-observations.” —The New York Times


Goodbye, Vitamin: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781250182555
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Picador - July 10th, 2018

Named a Best Book of the Year by NPR; O, The Oprah Magazine; Vogue; San Francisco Chronicle; Esquire; Huffington Post; Nylon; Entertainment Weekly; BuzzFeed; Booklist; and The Independent


The Idiot: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143111061
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Penguin Books - February 13th, 2018

A New York Times Book Review Notable Book • Finalist for the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction • Longlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction

“Easily the funniest book I’ve read this year.” —GQ


9th Ave: David Yoon with Tom Lin

The cover of David Yoon's City of Orange. It has an illustration of rolling hills with a gradient of orange. The title is written in white font down the center of the cover.

Pre-Order Now Badge
City of Orange Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593422168
Availability: Coming Soon. Pre-Order Now!
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - May 24th, 2022

A man wakes up in an unknown landscape, injured and alone.

 He used to live in a place called California, but how did he wind up here with a head wound and a bottle of pills in his pocket?


The Thousand Crimes of Ming Tsu Cover Image
By Tom Lin
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316542159
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Little, Brown and Company - June 1st, 2021

Winner of the Carnegie Medal for Excellence
Finalist for the Young Lions Fiction Award

A Chinese American assassin sets out to rescue his kidnapped wife and exact revenge on her abductors in this New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice: a twist on the classic western from "an astonishing new voice" (Jonathan Lethem).

Orphaned young, Ming Tsu,


9th Ave: Obi Kaufmann

Cover of Obi Kaufmann's book, The Coasts of California. The cover is white and in the center in a round frame is a water color painting of a wooded coasts with pine trees, a light blue sky, and cerulean blue water. There is a bird flying up and out fo the round frame. Additional cover text reads "A California Field Atlas"

The Coasts of California Cover Image
$55.00
ISBN: 9781597145510
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Heyday Books - April 19th, 2022

An epic, gloriously illustrated journey up and down California's shoreline


The California Field Atlas Cover Image
$45.00
ISBN: 9781597144025
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Heyday Books - September 1st, 2017

" A] gorgeously illustrated compendium."--Sunset

This lavishly illustrated atlas takes readers off the beaten path and outside normal conceptions of California, revealing its myriad ecologies, topographies, and histories in exquisite maps and trail paintings.


The Forests of California: A California Field Atlas Cover Image
$55.00
ISBN: 9781597144797
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Heyday Books - September 7th, 2020

The first book of a major new trilogy from artist-naturalist Obi Kaufmann


The State of Water: Understanding California's Most Precious Resource Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9781597144698
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Heyday Books - June 1st, 2019

Obi Kaufmann, author of the best-selling California Field Atlas, turns his artful yet analytical attention to the Golden State's single most complex and controversial resource: water.


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Books on the Park