Books on the Park

9th Ave: Nathaniel Rudavsky-Brody on Paul Valéry

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

The Idea of Perfection: The Poetry and Prose of Paul Valéry; A Bilingual Edition Cover Image

Nathaniel Rudavsky-Brody discusses his translation of The Idea of Perfection: The Poetry and Prose of Paul Valéry.

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Idea of Perfection: The Poetry and Prose of Paul Valéry; A Bilingual Edition Cover Image
$40.00
ISBN: 9780374298487
Availability: Coming Soon. Pre-Order Now!
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - April 14th, 2020

A fresh look into the monumental work of Paul Valéry, one of the major French literary figures of the twentieth century.


9th Ave: Litquake presents Caitlin Myer and Joe Loya

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

Wiving: A Memoir of Loving then Leaving the Patriarchy Cover Image

Caitlin Myer discusses her new book Wiving: A Memoir of Loving Then Leaving The Patriarchy with Joe Loya. Sponsored by Litquake.

Pre-Order Now Badge
Wiving: A Memoir of Loving then Leaving the Patriarchy Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781950691470
Availability: Coming Soon. Pre-Order Now!
Published: Arcade - July 21st, 2020

A literary memoir of one woman's journey from wife to warrior, in the vein of breakout hits like Cheryl Strayed's Wild and Jeannette Walls's The Glass Castle
 
At thirty-six years old, Caitlin Myer is ready to start a family with her husband.


9th Ave: Ben Ehrenreich

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

Desert Notebooks: A Road Map for the End of Time Cover Image

Ben Ehrenreich discusses his new book Desert Notebooks: A Road Map for the End of Time.

Praise for Desert Notebooks

Pre-Order Now Badge
Desert Notebooks: A Road Map for the End of Time Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781640093539
Availability: Coming Soon. Pre-Order Now!
Published: Counterpoint LLC - July 7th, 2020

For fans of Robert Macfarlane or Elizabeth Rush, National Magazine Award winner and The Nation columnist Ben Ehrenreich layers climate science, mythologies, nature writing, and personal experiences into a stunning reckoning of our current moment and our all-too-human urge to grapple with apocalypse.


9th Ave: Felicia Angeja Viator

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

Felicia Angeja Viator discusses her new book To Live and Defy in LA: How Gangsta Rap Changed America.

Praise for To Live and Defy in LA

To Live and Defy in LA: How Gangsta Rap Changed America Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9780674976368
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships 1-10 business days from warehouse. ETA will be updated with email order confirmation.
Published: Harvard University Press - February 25th, 2020

How gangsta rap shocked America, made millions, and pulled back the curtain on an urban crisis.


9th Ave: Megha Majumdar

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

A Burning: A novel Cover Image

Megha Majumdar discusses her debut novel A Burning.

Praise for A Burning

Pre-Order Now Badge
A Burning: A novel Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780525658696
Availability: Coming Soon. Pre-Order Now!
Published: Knopf - June 2nd, 2020

For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri, an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who seek to rise--to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies--and find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe in contemporary India.


9th Ave: Eric Goodman

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

Eric Goodman discusses his new novel Cuppy and Stew.

Praise for Cuppy and Stew

"CUPPY AND STEW is completely natural, poignant, and riveting from the first page to the last. An easy read in the best sense of that phrase, and a major work of fiction."—Ron Hansen

Pre-Order Now Badge
Cuppy and Stew: The Bombing of Flight 629, a Love Story Cover Image
$23.00
ISBN: 9781733386418
Availability: Coming Soon. Pre-Order Now!
Published: If SF Publishing - May 15th, 2020

Fiction. Memoir. In November, 1955, a young man in Denver, Colorado, hid twenty-five sticks of dynamite and a crude timer in his mother's suitcase. In what the FBI would term the first example of American air piracy, United Flight 629 blew up twelve minutes after taking off, killing everyone aboard.


CANCELED: Karolina Waclawiak

 

Life Events: A Novel Cover Image

This event has been canceled.

Praise for Life Events

"Waclawiak writes with emotional precision and explores the tragedy of existence by masterfully walking the line between suffering and hope." --Arianna Rebolini, BuzzFeed

Pre-Order Now Badge
Life Events: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780374186951
Availability: Coming Soon. Pre-Order Now!
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - July 28th, 2020

One of BuzzFeed's Most Anticipated Books of 2020 and one of The Millions Most Anticipated Books of the First Half of 2020

A woman at a crossroads learns the only way to reclaim her life is to help others die


How to Get Into the Twin Palms Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780983247180
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Two Dollar Radio - August 14th, 2012

"Waclawiak's novel reinvents the immigration story. How to Get Into the Twin Palms movingly portrays a protagonist intent on both creating and destroying herself, on burning brightly even as she goes up in smoke."
-New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice


9th Ave: Donovan Hohn

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

The Inner Coast: Essays Cover Image

Donovan Hohn discusses his new essay collection The Inner Coast.

Praise for The Inner Coast

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Inner Coast: Essays Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781324005971
Availability: Coming Soon. Pre-Order Now!
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - June 2nd, 2020

Prize-winning essays on our changing place in the natural world by the best-selling author of Moby-Duck.


Moby-Duck: The True Story of 28,800 Bath Toys Lost at Sea & of the Beachcombers, Oceanograp hers, Environmentalists & Fools Including the Author Who Went in Search of Them Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780143120506
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Penguin Books - February 28th, 2012

A compulsively readable narrative of whimsy and curiosity- "adventurous, inquisitive, and brightly illuminating" (Janet Maslin, The New York Times).

When the writer Donovan Hohn heard of the mysterious loss of thousands of bath toys at sea, he figured he would interview a few oceanographers, talk to a few beachcombers, and read up on Arctic science and geography.


9th Ave: Laura Van Den Berg

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

I Hold a Wolf by the Ears: Stories Cover Image

Laura Van Den Berg discusses her new story collection I Hold A Wolf By The Ears.

Praise for I Hold A Wolf By The Ears

Pre-Order Now Badge
I Hold a Wolf by the Ears: Stories Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780374102098
Availability: Coming Soon. Pre-Order Now!
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - June 9th, 2020

"As enchanting as fairy tales, as mysterious as dreams, these exquisitely composed fictions are as urgent and original as any being written today.” —Sigrid Nunez, author of The Friend, winner of the 2018 National Book Award for Fiction


The Third Hotel: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781250214881
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Picador - August 13th, 2019

"[A] future cult classic." —The New York Times Book Review


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Books on the Park