Island Rule: Stories (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Island Rule: Stories By Katie M. Flynn Cover Image
$27.99
Coming Soon. Pre-Order Now!

Description


From the author of the “urgent and heartfelt” (San Francisco Chronicle) novel The Companions, a genre-bending collection of interconnected short stories in the tradition of Jennifer Egan and Karen Russell.

An angry mother turns into a literal monster. A company in San Francisco can scrub your entire reputation and create a new one…for a price. A failed actor on a reality show turns into an unlikely world savior. And much more.

Through each of these twelve interconnected stories, Katie Flynn masterfully blends people, places, and even realities. From a powerful and “radiant” (Kassandra Montag, author of After the Flood) new literary voice to be reckoned with, this collection will stay with you after turn the final page.

About the Author


Katie M. Flynn is a writer, editor, and educator based in San Francisco. Her short fiction has appeared in the San Francisco ChronicleTin House, and Tor.com, among other publications. She has been awarded Colorado Review’s Nelligan Prize for Short Fiction, a fellowship from the San Francisco Writers Grotto, and the Steinbeck Fellowship in Creative Writing. Katie holds an MFA from the University of San Francisco and an MA in Geography from UCLA. Her first novel, The Companions, was published by Gallery/Scout Press in 2020. Follow her on Instagram @Katie_M_Flynn or visit her website KatieMFlynn.com.

Praise For…


"A wonderfully eerie collection, Island Rule haunts and delights. Flynn’s writing is taught and teeming, making a world of bone mounds and monsters as alarmingly real as teenage angst and midlife crises. The creeping darkness of Island Rule revels in exploring darkness at the edges of our world, and what happens when we invite it in." —Erika Swyler, author of The Light from Other Stars

"In this eerie collection, Flynn challenges our notions of the familiar with 12 resonant interlocking short stories. Island Rule surprised me at every turn." —Chana Porter, author of The Seep and The Thick and the Lean

 

"Bruised and bruising, the stories in Island Rule bring to life a near-future in which loneliness and desire—for connection, visibility, and compassion— fuel every encounter. Funny, tender, and compulsively readable, Katie Flynn’s warm-hearted collection is an absolute gem, with an enormous generosity of spirit and keen wit on display in every line." —Maryse Meijer, author of Rag and Heartbreaker


Product Details
ISBN: 9781982122201
ISBN-10: 198212220X
Publisher: Gallery/Scout Press
Publication Date: March 5th, 2024
Pages: 288
Language: English