I Didn't See It Coming (Paperback)

I Didn't See It Coming By William E. Jones Cover Image
NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships from warehouse in several days.


I Didn't See It Coming is the dark and exciting culmination of William E. Jones's trilogy of novels set in Los Angeles. The new book begins several years after the end of the second novel. I Should Have Known Better's former art school students and their companions face decisions about whether they should continue their frivolous adventures or begin to lead more conventional lives. As these bright young things approach middle age--and gentrification swallows up affordable neighborhoods--they find themselves dealing with real life in all its unpleasantness against a background of news about the war in Iraq. Due to stubbornness or inertia, the narrator sticks to his bohemian ways, finding work in the porn industry, while his friends settle down, flourish as artists, leave town, or destroy themselves.

I Didn't See It Coming continues the stories of all of the major characters in the trilogy, including Moira, the idealistic leftist who emigrates to Mexico; Bernie, the brilliant but wildly impractical teacher and book collector; Paul, the promiscuous and acidly witty fop; and Winston, the Balkan immigrant who returns to Europe and is catapulted to art stardom. The novel also reveals the fate of Temo, the love of the narrator's life, who disappears under mysterious circumstances at the conclusion of I Should Have Known Better. I Didn't See It Coming is a page turner bristling with energy and brimming with the kind of explicit sex scenes that readers have come to expect from the author of I'm Open to Anything and True Homosexual Experiences.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781737842828
ISBN-10: 1737842823
Publisher: We Heard You Like Books
Publication Date: June 15th, 2023
Pages: 288
Language: English