The Nature of Witches (Hardcover)

The Nature of Witches Cover Image
$17.99
ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Green Apple Books on Clement
On hand as of Oct 23 5:03am
(YOUNG ADULT FICT)

Description


An Instant New York Times Bestseller

In a world where witches control the climate and are losing control, only one witch can save earth from destruction. But as her power grows, it hurts those closest to her, and when she falls in love with her training partner she's forced to choose between her power, her love, and saving the earth.

For centuries, witches have maintained the climate, but now their control is faltering as the atmosphere becomes more erratic; the storms, more destructive. All hope lies with Clara, a once-in-a-generation Everwitch whose magic is tied to every season.

In Autumn, Clara wants nothing to do with her power. It's wild and volatile, and the price of her magic—losing the ones she loves—is too high, despite the need to control the increasingly dangerous weather.

In Winter, the world is on the precipice of disaster. Fires burn, storms rage, and Clara accepts that she's the only one who can make a difference.

In Spring, she falls for Sang, the witch training her. As her magic grows, so do her feelings, until she's terrified Sang will be the next one she loses.

In Summer, Clara must choose between her power and her happiness, her duty and the people she loves...before she loses Sang, her magic, and thrusts the world into chaos.

"Perfect for fans of Shea Ernshaw and Taylor Swift's Folklore."—Rosiee Thor, author of Tarnished Are the Stars

"A bright, fresh read from a glowing new voice, THE NATURE OF WITCHES is both timely and stirring. Griffin's emotional writing that cuts to the heart will make her a new YA favorite."—Adrienne Young, New York Times bestselling author of Fable

"The forces of nature and magic blend perfectly in this masterfully told story... I couldn't love this book more."—Shea Ernshaw, NYT bestselling author of The Wicked Deep and Winterwood

About the Author


Rachel Griffin lives just outside of Seattle with her husband and dog, Doppler. She was fortunate enough to witness the 2017 total solar eclipse and became a certified weather spotter for the National Weather Service while doing research for this project. She is the New York Times bestselling author of The Nature of Witches. Visit her online at rachelgriffinbooks.com

Praise For…


"The Nature of Witches is unlike anything I've read before. With its wholly original take on witches, thought-provoking commentary on climate change, and a swoony romance I would die for, Griffin has crafted a magnificent debut that will have readers on the edge of their seats. To put it simply—I'm obsessed with this book" - Adalyn Grace, NYT bestselling author of All the Stars and Teeth



"The Nature of Witches is a timely, thoughtful tale of the responsibilities we have to our planet and to one another. Griffin's well-developed world building and complex main character make for a read that will resonate deeply." - Christine Lynn Herman, author of The Devouring Gray duology



"Readers will happily dive into Clara's magical realm." - The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books



"I could have stayed lost in the pages and magic of The Nature of Witches forever. Griffin's lush prose and evocative imagery adorns and compliments the thoughtfully designed world, and the well-drawn characters triumphantly carry the story from beginning to end. A stunning and timely debut" - Isabel Ibañez, author of Woven in Moonlight and Written in Starlight



"Seasonal magic abounds in this addictively thought-provoking tale of love, loss and self-identity" - Dawn Kurtagich, award-winning author of The Dead House



"In her debut, Griffin ties the story of a witch learning her strength to the raw power of nature and places it in a world decimated by climate change. It's new, different, and well worth a read. " - Booklist



"A fascinating blend of climate fiction, fantasy, boarding school novel and romance... Exciting and immersive." - BookPage



""Vibrant and magical, THE NATURE OF WITCHES is an achingly beautiful exploration of love and hope perfect for fans of Shea Ernshaw and Taylor Swift's Folklore. This book is a ray of sunshine." - Rosiee Thor, author of Tarnished Are the Stars



"Fresh and original... This standalone novel ties fantastical elements, LGBTQIA themes, and climate change together into one neat package that will leave readers ­satisfied" - School Library Journal



"A refreshing take on witches...imaginative, romantic and inspiring." - Shelf Awareness



"The Nature of Witches is a love letter to the earth. This lush, atmospheric book charmed me with its magic system, captured my heart with its swoony romance, and stole my breath with its gorgeous words. I want to wallpaper my home with Rachel Griffin's sentences" - Rachel Lynn Solomon, author of Today Tonight Tomorrow



"Griffin's emotional forthrightness makes this narrative accessible to younger YA readers, who will relish the sweet, supportive relationships tenderly interlacing with nature's rhythms." - Publishers Weekly



"The forces of nature and magic blend perfectly in this masterfully told story. I couldn't love this book more." - Shea Ernshaw, New York TImes bestselling author of THE WICKED DEEP and WINTERWOOD



Product Details
ISBN: 9781728229423
ISBN-10: 1728229421
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Publication Date: June 1st, 2021
Pages: 384
Language: English