Vanishing in the Haight (A Colleen Hayes Mystery #1) (Hardcover)

Vanishing in the Haight (A Colleen Hayes Mystery #1) Cover Image
$26.95
On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Green Apple Books on Clement
1 on hand, as of Sep 19 1:15am
(GENRE DISPLAY)
Books on the Park on 9th Avenue
3 on hand, as of Sep 19 1:01am
(MYSTERIES)

Description


Perfect for fans of Elmore Leonard and Gillian Flynn

Between fending off a lecherous parole officer and trying to get by in 1978 San Francisco, private investigator Colleen Hayes struggles to put her life back together so she can reconnect with her runaway teenage daughter. Then her life changes dramatically. She accepts a case from wealthy, retired industrialist Edward Copeland. The old man is desperate to solve the brutal murder of his daughter, a murder that took place in Golden Gate Park eleven years earlier—during the Summer of Love. The case has since gone cold, her murderer never found. Now, in his final days, Copeland hires Colleen to find his daughter’s killer in hopes he might die in peace.

Colleen understands what it means to take a life—she spent a decade in prison for killing her ex. Battling her own demons, she immerses herself in San Francisco’s underbelly, where police corruption is rampant. Her investigation turns deadly as she pries for information, yet there is little to go on. However, a song on the radio makes her wonder—did the murdered girl leave any clues that others may have missed?

About the Author


Born in San Francisco, with its rich literary history and a public transport system teeming with characters suitable for crime novels, the stage was set for Max Tomlinson to become a mystery writer. However, his time abroad has also inspired a variety of flavors in his writing. His published work includes a crime series set in South America, an international espionage series, and now Vanishing in the Haight, the first of the Colleen Hayes mystery series, set in his hometown.

Praise For…


Vanishing in the Haight makes for a classic detective tale: a postmodern noir featuring period perfect San Francisco settings that wondrously carve a slice out of time. Max Tomlinson's new series launch takes us into the waning days of the counter culture where private eye Colleen Hayes picks up the trail of a decade-old murder. As beautifully written as it is expertly crafted, Vanishing in the Haight features characters drawn with the touch of a master artist and a story that sizzles even as it scintillates.” — Jon Land, USA Today best-selling author



 “Atmospheric and tense, this one sizzles with twists that entertain and magnetize, whetting the appetite for more. Can’t wait for Book 2.” — Steve Berry, New York Times best-selling author



 “With a strong, intelligent female sleuth, a colorful location, a tantalizing puzzle, and an abundance of San Francisco lore, this will please a wide variety of mystery readers.” — Booklist (starred review)



“Max Tomlinson serves up the perfect mystery in this edgy new detective series set in ’70s San Francisco. Colleen Hayes, an ex-con in search of her missing teenage daughter, finally lands her first big case. There’s just one problem: she must find a killer who’s been lurking since the Summer of Love. Not to be missed.” — James N. Frey, author of How to Write a Damn Good Thriller



“Max Tomlinson delivers a gritty, gripping story set in a fascinating time. Colleen Hayes is a deeply sympathetic sleuth, all too human. I can’t wait for her next adventure.” — Evan Marshall, author of City in Shadow



“I’ve just three words to say about Vanishing in the Haight by Max Tomlinson—Wow. Just. Wow. Tomlinson’s taut, spare, evocative writing style is an absolute beauty. You couldn’t ask for a better guide through the dark, shadowy flashback haze of ‘70s San Francisco.” — Tracy Clark, author of Broken Places



“[In Vanishing in the Haight,] Tomlinson’s confidence in his characters will have readers ready for his follow-up.” — Kirkus Reviews



"The intensity that came from every chapter of this book showed the immense control this author has to create a truly wild ride. We join P.I. Colleen Hayes—a woman who is literally struggling to get her life back on track. Not only is she dealing with a scuzzy parole officer while trying to make ends meet, but she’s also trying to make a new start with her runaway teenage daughter. Taking on a case that will make her cash, Colleen decides to help a very wealthy retired man by the name of Edward Copeland. The poor man’s daughter was brutally murdered eleven years previously in Golden Gate Park and no one ever found out anything about it. This was the time of the ‘Summer of Love,’ although there’s nothing lovely about his daughter’s cold case. And now that the elderly man is seeing his finality on Earth coming closer, he wants more than ever to find his daughter’s killer in order to attain the peace he craves. Now, Colleen is someone who understands both sides of murder, if you will. She certainly was never a psychopath, but she was sent to prison for killing her ex. Instead of closing herself off, she takes the case on in a world that is ripe with police who love to turn the other way. Not only is the corruption frightening, but Colleen also finds herself engaged to the case as ‘clues’ start to arise; odd clues that lead the P.I. to believe the dead girl left a path to follow that will lead her to the killer Edward Copeland has been searching for. This is a new series that already will leave you stunned. And it is a breath of fresh air that the lead is a strong, intelligent woman who’s just the right guide through the tough climate of San Fran in the 70’s. I can’t wait to see where Colleen goes next." — Suspense Magazine


Product Details
ISBN: 9781608093410
ISBN-10: 1608093417
Publisher: Oceanview Publishing
Publication Date: August 20th, 2019
Pages: 400
Language: English
Series: A Colleen Hayes Mystery