Lovers on All Saints' Day: Stories (Paperback)

Lovers on All Saints' Day: Stories Cover Image
NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships 1-10 business days from warehouse. ETA will be updated with email order confirmation.


From the award-winning, bestselling author of The Sound of Things Falling and Reputations, a brilliant collection of stories that showcases why he is one of the best writers--in any language--working today.

Lovers on All Saints' Day is an emotional book that haunts, moves, and seduces. Juan Gabriel V squez, the brilliant novelist, now brings his keen eye and rich prose to the themes of love and memory in these seven powerful stories.

V squez achieves an extraordinary unity of emotion with these fragmented lives. A Colombian writer is witness to a murder that will mark him forever. A woman sits alone in her house, waiting for her husband to return from an expedition to find wood for their stove, while he lies in another woman's bed a few miles away, unable to heal the wound in his own marriage. In these stories, there are love affairs, revenge, troubled pasts, and tender moments that reveal a person's whole history in a few sentences.

Set in Europe (the scene of V squez's own self-imposed exile from Latin America) and never before available in English, this collection evokes a singular mood and a tone, and showcase V squez's hypnotic writing. V squez is a humane, deeply insightful writer, and these stories leave one feeling transformed from the experience of reading them, with a greater vision of humanity and society, a greater understanding of relationships and of love.

From the Hardcover edition.

About the Author

Juan Gabriel Vásquez's books include the forthcoming novel Reputations, as well as the 2014 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award winner and national bestseller, The Sound of Things Falling, and the award-winning The Informers and The Secret History of Costaguana. Vásquez's books have been published in twenty-five languages worldwide. After sixteen years in France, Belgium, and Spain, he now lives in Bogotá. Anne McLean translates Latin American and Spanish novels, short stories, memoirs, and other writings. She has twice won both the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize and the Premio Valle Inclán, and received the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award with Juan Gabriel Vásquez for his novel The Sound of Things Falling. She lives in Toronto. From the Hardcover edition.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781594634277
ISBN-10: 1594634270
Publisher: Riverhead Books
Publication Date: July 19th, 2016
Pages: 272
Language: English