The Risk of Us (Hardcover)

The Risk of Us Cover Image
$23.00
On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Green Apple Books on Clement
7 on hand, as of May 20 12:30am
(DISPLAY HARDBACK FICTION)
Books on the Park on 9th Avenue
5 on hand, as of May 20 10:45pm
(FICTION)

Description


A poignant, dazzling debut novel about a woman who longs to be a mother and the captivating yet troubled child she and her husband take in.

What is the cost of motherhood? When The Risk of Us opens, we meet a forty-something woman who deeply wants to become a mother. The path that opens up to her and her husband takes them through the foster care system, with the goal of adoption. And when seven-year-old Maresa—with inch-deep dimples and a voice that can beam to the moon—comes into their lives, their hearts fill with love. But her rages and troubles threaten to crack open their marriage. Over the course of a year, as Maresa approaches the age at which children become nearly impossible to place, the couple must decide if they can be the parents this child needs, and finalize the adoption—or, almost unthinkably, give her up.

For fans of Jenny Offill and Rachel Cusk, The Risk of Us deftly explores the inevitable tests children bring to a marriage, the uncertainties of family life, and the ways true empathy obliterates our defenses.

About the Author


RACHEL HOWARD earned her MFA in fiction from Warren Wilson College and is the author of a memoir, The Lost Night. She is the recipient of a MacDowell Colony fellowship, and her fiction, essays, and dance criticism have appeared in the San Francisco Chronicle, the New York Times, the Los Angeles Review of Books, Waxwing, and elsewhere. She lives in Nevada City, California.

Praise For…


“With breathtaking brevity, Rachel Howard's debut novel, The Risk of Us, illuminates the joys, challenges, fears and frustrations of adopting a foster child. And while she delves into the minutiae of ‘the system’ and the differences of opinion about parenting styles, her deceptively thin volume is about much more than plunging into parenthood. Howard masterfully illuminates how parenthood manages to bend even the most solid of marriages and expose insecurities about past relationships, including those from childhood. . . .  [Howard’s] writing is spare and elegant, yet it beautifully conveys intensity and emotional depth. . . . A simply gorgeous novel.”Associated Press

“It’s a triumph of a book that captures an essential truth not just about how it feels to foster an already formed human being, but about the fragile, shape-shifting quality of any family. Raising a child is always a leap of faith, motivated by love, which is something this narrator has stores of.”The San Francisco Chronicle

"Powerful . . . Howard’s portrayal of motherhood in The Risk of Us is the antidote to the Instagram hashtag filled with photos of glowing stay-at-home moms posed with their immaculate children and spotless kitchens.…Utterly compelling."Bustle

"Poignant" San Francisco Examiner

"Though rooted in memoir, this is compelling fiction, trenchant, heartbreaking, ultimately hopeful."Booklist

“An emotionally complex and amazingly suspenseful novel about love and fear."—Jenny Offill, author of Dept. of Speculation

“A tight, compelling story.” —Santa Barbara Independent

"Rachel Howard has given us a portrait of family-building and attachment that is at once beautiful and painful, serious and funny, page-turning and insightful. I was deeply moved by this novel, a powerful reminder of the risks we take on whenever we love anyone."
— Belle Boggs, author of The Art of Waiting

"I’ve never read anything so beautiful about the intricacies of adoption—the process itself, and the seldom-talked-about aftermath. The prose is elegant and compressed; I often had to stop reading to catch my breath. Anyone who has ever loved a child, in any capacity, should read this book."
— Jamie Quatro, author of I Want to Show You More and Fire Sermon 

"The Risk of Us is a spare, poetic, and fearless narrative that explores the question of what makes—and keeps—a family together. Be prepared for an absorbing, unflinching chronicle of the formidable difficulties and vast rewards of love."
— Krys Lee, author of How I Became a North Korean and Drifting House

"Rachel Howard’s The Risk of Us (so accurately titled) is a novel of deep pain yet also laughs—lots of them. Nothing is easy in this book, and that’s as it should be. With risk comes a kind of awesome grace. A wonderfully written and candid examination of what it means to be a family."
— Peter Orner, author of Last Car over the Sagamore Bridge and Love and Shame and Love

"Howard works with an elegant complexity, rendering family life with its necessary cocktail of pain and humor and pathos. She's the kind of writer I admire most: an unflinching, savage, and ultimately tender eye trying to make sense of all our confusions."
— Joshua Mohr, author of Termite Parade
 
"This book reads like a thriller. A beautiful story about connection and love despite and beyond trauma.”
— Julia Scheeres, author of Jesus Land

"A study in the frustrations of the foster-care system and the shaky foundations beneath new families. "Kirkus


Product Details
ISBN: 9781328588821
ISBN-10: 1328588823
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Publication Date: April 9th, 2019
Pages: 208