The Fifth Season (Broken Earth #1) (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
The Fifth Season (Broken Earth #1) Cover Image
On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Green Apple Books on Clement
17 on hand, as of May 27 2:01am
Books on the Park on 9th Avenue
5 on hand, as of May 27 1:45am

Staff Reviews

"N.K. Jemisin's Broken Earth Trilogy begins with the end of a wonderfully reimagined earth, where all but the one responsible for this world-ending fate have no knowledge of what's to come. The three protagonists, all of them orogenes, Essun, Syen, Damaya, each endure hardship as cultural stigma against them is common. Orogenes have the ability to feel, shape, and manipulate the earth itself; lave, fault-lines, weather and all! Jemisin captures readers in a beautifully elaborate and psychoanalytic world, engaging empathy as factions, alliances, and politics adapt to an approaching doomsday." - Amai

— From Amai's Staff Picks


"Intricate and extraordinary." - New York Times on The Fifth Season (A New York Times Notable Book of 2015)


This is the way the world ends...for the last time.
A season of endings has begun.

It starts with the great red rift across the heart of the world's sole continent, spewing ash that blots out the sun.

It starts with death, with a murdered son and a missing daughter.

It starts with betrayal, and long dormant wounds rising up to fester.

This is the Stillness, a land long familiar with catastrophe, where the power of the earth is wielded as a weapon. And where there is no mercy.

For more from N. K. Jemisin, check out:

The Inheritance Trilogy
The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms
The Broken Kingdoms
The Kingdom of Gods

The Inheritance Trilogy (omnibus edition)
Shades in Shadow: An Inheritance Triptych (e-only short fiction)
The Awakened Kingdom (e-only novella)

Dreamblood Duology
The Killing Moon
The Shadowed Sun

The Broken EarthThe Fifth SeasonThe Obelisk Gate

About the Author

N. K. Jemisin is a Brooklyn author who won the Hugo Award for Best Novel for both The Obelisk Gate and The Fifth Season, which was also a New York Times Notable Book of 2015. She previously won the Locus Award for her first novel, The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, and her short fiction and novels have been nominated multiple times for Hugo, World Fantasy, Nebula, and RT Reviewers' Choice awards, and shortlisted for the Crawford and the James Tiptree, Jr. awards. She is a science fiction and fantasy reviewer for the New York Times, and you can find her online at

Praise For…

"[It] shines for its remarkable characters and graceful prose" -
-Library Journal (Starred Review) on The Killing Moon

"Jemisin proves yet again that she is one of the important new writers in the sff scene." -
-Kate Elliott, author of Cold Fire, on The Killing Moon

"[A] gripping series well as a rousing political and supernatural adventure."
-Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) on The Killing Moon

This is a book that readers won't be able to put down...A magnificent novel and one of the best books this reviewer has read this year."
-RT Book Reviews on The Inheritance trilogy

"N.K. Jemisin has written a fascinating epic fantasy where the stakes are not just the fate of kingdoms but of the world and the universe." on The Inheritance trilogy

"The very best kind of sequel: as lush and evocative and true as the first, with all the same sense of mystery, giving us the world and characters we already love, and yet with a new story and a wonderfully new perspective on the whole dazzling world and pantheon the author has built."
-Naomi Novik on The Inheritance trilogy

"Jemisin's engaging debut grabs readers right from the start...a complex, edge-of-your-seat story with plenty of funny, scary, and bittersweet twists."
-Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) on The Inheritance trilogy

"A compelling page-turner."
-The Onion A.V. Club on The Inheritance trilogy

Product Details
ISBN: 9780316229296
ISBN-10: 0316229296
Publisher: Orbit
Publication Date: August 4th, 2015
Pages: 512
Language: English
Series: Broken Earth