Bay Area Fiction Books We Love

A collection of books either set in or written about San Francisco that we love!

Out There: Stories By Kate Folk Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593231487
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - December 6th, 2022

A thrilling new voice in fiction injects the absurd into the everyday to present a startling vision of modern life, “[as] if Kafka and Camus and Bradbury were penning episodes of Black Mirror” (Chang-Rae Lee, author of My Year Abroad).


Sourdough (with Bonus Story
$18.00
ISBN: 9781250869692
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Picador - September 6th, 2022

From Robin Sloan, the New York Times bestselling author of Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore, comes Sourdough, “a perfect parable for our times” (San Francisco Magazine): a delicious and funny novel about an overworked and under-socialized software engineer discovering a calling and a community as a baker.


Outer Sunset By Mark Ernest Pothier Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781609388836
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: University Of Iowa Press - May 15th, 2023

Jim Finley—a recently retired English teacher living alone on the shifting edge of San Francisco—has been set, unwittingly, on the back porch of life. Trying to harmonize the voices in his head, he sits most days by his stack of “to-do” books until, one day, his daughter comes home with the worst news of her life. Everything changes.


The Shamshine Blind: A Novel By Paz Pardo Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781982185329
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Atria Books - February 14th, 2023

A beguiling blend of noir detective story and science fiction perfect for fans of Michael Chabon and Emily St.


At the Edge of the Haight By Katherine Seligman Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781643752082
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Algonquin Books - October 19th, 2021

The 10th Winner of the 2019 PEN/Bellwether Prize for Socially Engaged Fiction, Awarded by Barbara Kingsolver

“What a read this is, right from its startling opening scene. But even more than plot, it’s the richly layered details that drive home a lightning bolt of empathy.


The Mars Room: A Novel By Rachel Kushner Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781476756585
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Scribner - May 7th, 2019

TIME’S #1 FICTION TITLE OF THE YEAR • NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK OF 2018

FINALIST for the MAN BOOKER PRIZE and the NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD

LONGLISTED for the ANDREW CARNEGIE MEDAL

An instant New York Times bestseller from two-time National Book Award finalist Rachel Kushner, The Mars Room ea


Staff Pick Badge
We Run the Tides: A Novel By Vendela Vida Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062936240
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Ecco - October 12th, 2021

NATIONAL BESTSELLER 

An achingly beautiful story of female friendship, betrayal, and a mysterious disappearance set in the changing landscape of San Francisco 


Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore (10th Anniversary Edition): A Novel By Robin Sloan, Paul Yamazaki (Foreword by) Cover Image
By Robin Sloan, Paul Yamazaki (Foreword by)
$18.00
ISBN: 9781250870292
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Picador - October 4th, 2022

The 10th Anniversary Edition of Robin Sloan’s New York Times bestseller, Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore, with a new foreword by Paul Yamazaki and featuring the story Ajax Penumbra 1969.

A winner of the Alex Award and a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for First Fiction


The Circle By Dave Eggers Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780345807298
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Vintage - April 22nd, 2014

INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER • A bestselling dystopian novel that tackles surveillance, privacy and the frightening intrusions of technology in our lives—a “compulsively readable parable for the 21st century” (Vanity Fair).


Tales of the City: A Novel By Armistead Maupin Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780061358302
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Harper Perennial - May 29th, 2007

The first novel in the beloved Tales of the City series, Armistead Maupin’s best-selling San Francisco saga, and inspiration for the Netflix original series, Tales of the City


Last Night at the Telegraph Club By Malinda Lo Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780525555278
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - December 28th, 2021

Winner of the National Book Award
A New York Times Bestseller

"The queer romance we’ve been waiting for.”—Ms. Magazine


The Joy Luck Club: A Novel By Amy Tan Cover Image
By Amy Tan
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143038092
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Penguin Books - September 21st, 2006

The Joy Luck Club is one of my favorite books. From the moment I first started reading it, I knew it was going to be incredible. For me, it was one of those once-in-a-lifetime reading experiences that you cherish forever. It inspired me as a writer and still remains hugely inspirational.” —Kevin Kwan, author of Crazy Rich Asians


Telegraph Avenue: A Novel By Michael Chabon Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780061493355
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Harper Perennial - September 10th, 2013

The New York Times bestseller, now available in paperbacka big-hearted, exhilarating novel exploring the profoundly intertwined lives of two Oakland families.

“An immensely gifted writer and magical prose stylist.”
—Michiko Kakutani, New York Times


Valencia (Live Girls) By Michelle Tea Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781580052382
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships from warehouse in several days.
Published: Seal Press - April 15th, 2008

There There By Tommy Orange Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780525436140
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Vintage - May 7th, 2019

PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST NATIONAL BESTSELLER • A wondrous and shattering award-winning novel that follows twelve characters from Native communities: all traveling to the Big Oakland Powwow, all connected to one another in ways they may not yet realize.


Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?: The inspiration for the films Blade Runner and Blade Runner 2049 By Philip K. Dick Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780345404473
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Del Rey - May 28th, 1996

A masterpiece ahead of its time, a prescient rendering of a dark future, and the inspiration for the blockbuster film Blade Runner


The Maltese Falcon By Dashiell Hammett Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780679722649
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Vintage Crime/Black Lizard - July 17th, 1989

From "a master of the detective novel [and] one hell of a writer" (The Boston Globe) comes a coolly glittering gem of detective fiction that has haunted three generations of readers.


Staff Pick Badge
Trout Fishing In America, Pill Vs Springhill Mine Disaster, In Watermelon Sugar By Richard Brautigan Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780395500767
Availability: Click the TITLE to view store availability
Published: Mariner Books - March 1st, 1989

Three counterculture classics by Richard Brautigan, literary icon of the 1960s, together in a single volume, including the unforgettable Trout Fishing in America.

Trout Fishing in America is by turns a hilarious, playful, and melancholy novel that wanders from San Francisco through America's rural waterways.

In Watermelon Sugar