Bay Area and California Picks

Some of our favorites on the Bay Area and California!

Staff Pick Badge
Cool Gray City of Love: 49 Views of San Francisco Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781620401262
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Bloomsbury USA - October 14th, 2014

"A kaleidoscopic homage both personal and historical . . . Kamiya’s symphony of San Francisco is a grand pleasure." —New York Times Book Review

The bestselling love letter to one of the world's great cities, San Francisco, by a life-long Bay Area resident and co-founder of Salon.


Staff Pick Badge
Home Baked: My Mom, Marijuana, and the Stoning of San Francisco Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780358006091
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt - April 20th, 2020

A blazingly funny, heartfelt memoir from the daughter of the larger-than-life woman who ran Sticky Fingers Brownies, an underground bakery that distributed thousands of marijuana brownies per month and helped provide medical marijuana to AIDS patients in San Francisco—for fans of Armistead Maupin and Patricia Lockwood

During the '70s in San Francisco, Alia's m


Gold Mountain, Big City: Ken Cathcart’s 1947 Illustrated Map of San Francisco’s Chinatown Cover Image
$40.00
ISBN: 9781944903893
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Harry N. Abrams - March 24th, 2020

San Francisco's Natural History: Sand Dunes to Streetcars Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781548688004
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform - November 14th, 2017

This book traces the changes in the environment, the plants and animals starting with the Ohlone through the colonial period and in the decades since the Gold Rush. It describes what the flora and fauna were like before the presidio and mission were founded, what plants and animals disappeared and which survived.


Hidden San Francisco: A Guide to Lost Landscapes, Unsung Heroes and Radical Histories Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9780745340944
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Pluto Press - February 20th, 2020

San Francisco is an iconic and symbolic city. But only when you look beyond the picture-postcards of the Golden Gate Bridge and the quaint cable cars do you realise that the city's most interesting stories are not the Summer of Love, the Beats or even the latest gold rush in Silicon Valley.

Hidden San Francisco is a guidebook like no other.


Season of the Witch: Enchantment, Terror, and Deliverance in the City of Love Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781439108246
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Free Press - March 5th, 2013

The critically acclaimed, San Francisco Chronicle bestseller—a gripping story of the strife and tragedy that led to San Francisco’s ultimate rebirth and triumph.

Salon founder David Talbot chronicles the cultural history of San Francisco and from the late 1960s to the early 1980s when figures such as Harvey Milk, Janis Joplin, Jim Jones, and Bill Walsh helped usher


Golden Gates: Fighting for Housing in America Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780525560210
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Penguin Press - February 18th, 2020

A Time 100 Must-Read Book of 2020 
New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice 
Runner-Up General Nonfiction: San Francisco Book Festival
Shortlisted for the Goddard Riverside Stephan Russo Book Prize for Social Justice

A stunning, deeply reported investigation into the housing crisis


Urban Trails: San Francisco: Coastal Bluffs/ The Presidio/ Hilltop Parks & Stairways Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781680510201
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Mountaineers Books - November 1st, 2016

San Francisco is home to more than 800,000 residents and hosts more than 17 million business and leisure travelers each year. But few visitors--or locals, for that matter--realize that there are more than 220 premier parks and 70 miles of hiking trails in the city itself.


San Francisco's Chinatown Cover Image
$40.00
ISBN: 9781597145206
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Heyday Books - October 6th, 2020

"...a marvelous book and a great contribution to Chinatown, the Chinese-American community, and to the world community. I am amazed at your photography, your appreciation of color, your mastery of framing, your adventurousness in perspectives...it all worked out beautifully."--Ben Fong-Torres


111 Places in San Francisco That You Must Not Miss Updated and Revised Cover Image
$19.90
ISBN: 9783954516094
Availability: ON HAND in at least ONE of our stores. Click through or call for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Emons Publishers - September 25th, 2018

Part of the international 111 Places/111 Shops series with over 150 titles and 1 million copies in print worldwideAppeals to both the local market (nearly 7 million call the Bay Area home) and the tourist market (over 16 million people visit San Francisco every year)Fully illustrated with 111 full-page color photographsSan Francisco: the home of hills and valleys, of dreamers and trailblazers, of