Michelle Richmond - Golden State

Tuesday, February 4, 2014 - 7:00pm
 
Please join us on Tuesday, February 4th as we welcome Michelle Richmond for a reading and book signing at Green Apple Books in the Granny Smith Room at 7:00 p.m. 
 
"Mesmerizing and intricate, Richmond’s dissection of California on the violent brink of secession from the nation provides the backdrop for her deeper inspection of the uneasy, fragile relationship between siblings."
 
- Booklist, starred review
 
"This is the kind of book you want to read slowly—savoring the deeply believable characters, the beautifully described San Francisco setting, the strangeness (and rightness) of its all taking place on the day California may vote to secede from the nation—but instead you read it in a mad rush to find out where this incredibly talented writer is taking you.”
 
- Ann Packer, bestselling author of The Dive from Clausen’s Pier and Songs Without Words
 
Doctor Julie Walker has just signed her divorce papers when she receives news that her younger sister, Heather, has gone into labor. Though theirs is a strained relationship, Julie sets out for the hospital to be at her sister’s side—no easy task since the streets of San Francisco are filled with commotion. Today is the day that Californians are voting on whether or not to secede from the United States. It is also the day that Julie will find herself at the epicenter of a violent standoff with a former lover who has become obsessed with her.
 
Throughout the ordeal, Julie’s estranged husband, desperate for reconciliation, sends out coded messages from the radio station where he is the well-known Voice of Midnight.
 
GOLDEN STATE takes readers on a journey over the course of a single, unforgettable day. Five years in the making, Golden State is both a literary thriller and a meditation on marriage, love, and loyalty. Like The Year of Fog, it is a page-turner with a philosophical bent.
 
$15.00
ISBN: 9780385343282
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bantam Books for Young Readers - February 4th, 2014

Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Jacquelyn Mitchard, and Anna Quindlen, "Golden State" is a powerful, mesmerizing new novel that explores the intricacies of marriage, family, and the profound moments that shape our lives.


0