9th Ave: Jenny Forrester and Ariel Gore

Thursday, June 8, 2017 - 7:30pm

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. Store

 

 

Jenny Forrester in conversation with Ariel Gore about her memoir, Narrow River, Wide Sky

 

Praise for Jenny Forester

 

Narrow River, Wide Sky unwrites the story of family and America through the flutter of hearts beating or beaten up, through a skull on the piano, through the desert of our longings into the river of our sorrow—or is it hope, or maybe love, that keeps us alive in spite of ourselves. Jenny Forrester has hit the mother lode. --Lidia Yuknavitch, author of The Chronology of Water and The Small Backs of Children 

 

Forrester’s debut memoir is a lyrical account of coming of age as a woman in the West. Amid urgent geography, aching choices, and uncertain faith, Forrester explores the moments and forces that hold us together and shape our lives. This family flickers on the page like a constellation; Forrester is both a star unto herself and an inextricable part of the glowing whole. -- Megan Kruse, author of Call Me Home

 

A taut memoir about coming of age in the middle of nowhere where there are no minor decisions. Narrow River, Wide Sky is a haunting, intimate visit to the unforgiving landscape of life. --Mark Russell, author of God Is Disappointed in You and Apocrypha Now

 

 

About Narrow River, Wide Sky

 

On the Colorado Plateau between slot canyons and rattlesnakes, Jenny Forrester grew up with her mother and brother in a single-wide trailer proudly displaying an American flag. Forrester’s powerfully eloquent story reveals a rural small town comprising God-fearing Republicans, ranchers, Mormons, and Native Americans. With sensitivity and resilience, Forrester navigates feelings of isolation, an abusive boyfriend, sexual assault, and a failed college attempt to forge a separate identity. As young adults, after their mother’s accidental death, Forrester and her brother are left with an increasingly strained relationship that becomes a microcosm of America’s political landscape. Narrow River, Wide Sky is a breathtaking, determinedly truthful story about one woman’s search for identity within the mythology of family and America itself.

 

Narrow River, Wide Sky: A Memoir Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9780997068351
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Hawthorne Books - May 2nd, 2017

In the vein of The Liar's Club and The Glass Castle, Jenny Forrester's memoir perfectly captures both place and a community situated on the Colorado Plateau between slot canyons and rattlesnakes, where she grew up with her mother and brother in a single-wide trailer proudly displaying an American flag.


The End of Eve Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780986000799
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships 1-10 business days from warehouse. ETA will be updated with email order confirmation.
Published: Hawthorne Books - March 11th, 2014

At age 39, Ariel Gore has everything she's always wanted: a successful writing career, a long-term partnership, a beautiful if tiny home, a daughter in college and a son in preschool. But life's happy endings don't always last. If it's not one thing, after all, it's your mother. Her name is Eve. Her epic temper tantrums have already gotten her banned from three cab companies in Portland.


Event Categories: