Books on the Park

9th Ave: Carl C. Anthony

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

 

Carl C. Anthony discusses his new book The Earth, the City, and the Hidden Narrative of Race.

 

The Earth, the City, and the Hidden Narrative of Race Cover Image
$21.95
ISBN: 9781613320211
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: New Village Press - October 10th, 2017

In this work, Carl Anthony shares his perspectives as an African-American child in post-World War II Philadelphia; a student and civil rights activist in 1960s Harlem; a traveling student of West African architecture; and an architect, planner, and environmental justice advocate in Berkeley.


9th Ave: CAConrad and Dara Wier

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

 

While Standing in Line for Death Cover Image
$22.00
ISBN: 9781940696553
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Wave Books - September 5th, 2017

"From these rituals come notes; from those notes come poems; and from those poems comes not just a view into his process, but an entrance into another present." --Boston Globe


In the Still of the Night Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781940696577
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Wave Books - October 3rd, 2017

"Wier is a poet concerned with capturing the fluidity of thought and experience--and not diminishing its forward charge in doing so. Wier's lines have always had a wild whitewater crash to them, overwhelming any vessel she pours them into." --Boston Globe


9th Ave: Cristina Rivera Garza and Mauro Javier Cardenas

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Mexican writer Cristina Rivera Garza discusses her new novel, The Iliac Crest, with Mauro Javier Cardenas.

 

Praise for The Iliac Crest

 

The Iliac Crest Cover Image
By Sarah Booker (Translator), Cristina Rivera Garza, Elena Poniatowska (Foreword by)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781558614352
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Feminist Press - October 10th, 2017

On a dark and stormy night, two mysterious women invade an unnamed narrator's house, where they proceed to ruthlessly question their host's identity. While the women are strangely intimate--even inventing a secret language--they harass the narrator by repeatedly claiming that they know his greatest secret: that he is, in fact, a woman.


9th Ave: Alejandro Saravia and María José Gimenez

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Red, Yellow, Green Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781771961417
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Biblioasis - October 24th, 2017

In Montreal, Alfredo struggles with his memories of being ordered to commit an atrocity by the Bolivian army. Despising his nation as an oppressive sham, he falls for a woman who has no nation--a Kurdish freedom fighter trying to blast an independent Kurdistan into existence. As the net of intrigue closes in on his lover, Alfredo must finally face his past.


9th Ave: Hernán Diaz and Stephen Sparks

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Hernán Diaz discusses his new novel, In the Distance, with Stephen Sparks.

 

Praise for In the Distance

In the Distance Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781566894883
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Coffee House Press - October 10th, 2017

A young Swedish immigrant finds himself penniless and alone in California. The boy travels East in search of his brother, moving on foot against the great current of emigrants pushing West. Driven back again and again, he meets naturalists, criminals, religious fanatics, swindlers, Indians, and lawmen, and his exploits turn him into a legend.


9th Ave: Shanthi Sekaran

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Shanthi Sekaran discusses her new novel, Lucky Boy.

 

Praise for Lucky Boy

 

Lucky Boy Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101982266
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - September 5th, 2017

A heart-wrenching novel about the transformative power of motherhood and the redemptive beauty of love, perfect for readers of Jacquelyn Mitchard, Jenny Offill, and Cristina Henriquez.

"A fiercely compassionate story about the bonds and the bounds of motherhood and, ultimately, of love."--Cristina Henriquez, author of The Book of Unknown Americans


9th Ave: Trina Robbins

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Cartoonist and comics historian Trina Robbins discusses her new memoir, Last Girl Standing.

 

About Last Girl Standing

Last Girl Standing Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781683960140
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Fantagraphics Books - September 12th, 2017

From dressing Mama Cass to being pelted with jelly babies as she helped photograph the Rolling Stones's first US tour, from drunken New York nights spent with Jim Morrison to producing the very first all-woman comic book, the Lady of the Canyon takes no prisoners.


The Complete Wimmen's Comix Cover Image
By Trina Robbins (Editor)
$100.00
ISBN: 9781606998984
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Fantagraphics Books - March 7th, 2016

In the late 60s, underground comix changed the way comics readers saw the medium but there was an important pronoun missing from the revolution. In 1972, ten women cartoonists got together in San Francisco to rectify the situation and produce the first and longest-lasting all-woman comics anthology, Wimmen's Comix.


Pretty in Ink: North American Women Cartoonists, 1896-2013 Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781606996690
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Fantagraphics Books - December 6th, 2013

With the 1896 publication of Rose O Neill's comic strip The Old Subscriber Calls, in Truth Magazine, American women entered the field of comics, and they never left it. But, you might not know that reading most of the comics histories out there.


9th Ave: John Freeman and Rabih Alameddine

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Please join us for an evening with John Freeman, Rabih Alameddine and contributors to the new issue of Freeman’s Garnette Cadogan and Solmaz Sharif.

Freeman's: The Future of New Writing Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780802127297
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Grove Press - October 10th, 2017

"The oldest is 70. The youngest, 26. In between, the best list of this kind I have ever seen."--Marlon James

In three issues, the literary anthology from leading editor John Freeman has gained an international following and wide acclaim: "fresh, provocative, engrossing" (BBC.com), "impressively diverse" (O Magazine), "bold, searching" (Minneapolis Star-Tribune).


Freeman's: Home: The Best New Writing on Home Cover Image
By John Freeman (Editor)
$16.00
ISBN: 9780802126481
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Grove Press - April 4th, 2017

The third literary anthology in the series that has been called "ambitious" (O Magazine) and "strikingly international" (Boston Globe), Freeman's: Home, continues to push boundaries in diversity and scope, with stunning new pieces from emerging writers and literary luminaries alike.


The Angel of History Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780802127198
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Grove Press - October 17th, 2017

>Winner of the Northern California Book Award, the Lambda Literary Award for Gay Fiction, and the Arab American Book Award for Fiction


Look: Poems Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555977443
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Graywolf Press - July 5th, 2016

*Finalist for the 2017 PEN Open Book Award*
*Finalist for the 2016 National Book Award*


9th Ave: Ben Loory and Ethel Rohan

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Ben Loory discusses his new book, Tales of Falling and Flying, with Ethel Rohan.

 

Tales of Falling and Flying Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143130109
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Penguin Books - September 5th, 2017

"Mesmerizing and magical. . . . A stunning book." --NPR.org


Stories for Nighttime and Some for the Day Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143119500
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Penguin Books - July 26th, 2011

"This guy can write " --Ray Bradbury


The Weight of Him Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250092120
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: St. Martin's Press - February 14th, 2017

"Deeply moving and memorable." --Roxane Gay, author of Bad Feminist and Hunger

"First-time novelist Rohan shows impressive acuity in portraying the many facets of Billy's and his family's grief." --Booklist


9th Ave: I'd Rather Be Reading

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

I'd Rather Be Reading: A Library of Art for Book Lovers Cover Image
$12.95
ISBN: 9781452155111
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Chronicle Books - August 15th, 2017

For anyone who'd rather be reading than doing just about anything else, this book is the ultimate must-have. In this visual ode to all things bookish, readers will get lost in page after page of beautiful contemporary art, photography, and illustrations depicting the pleasures of books.


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Books on the Park