Books on the Park

9th Ave: Shanthi Sekaran

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Shanthi Sekaran discusses her new novel, Lucky Boy.

 

Praise for Lucky Boy

 

Lucky Boy Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101982266
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - September 5th, 2017

A heart-wrenching novel about the transformative power of motherhood and the redemptive beauty of love, perfect for readers of Jacquelyn Mitchard, Jenny Offill, and Cristina Henriquez.

"A fiercely compassionate story about the bonds and the bounds of motherhood and, ultimately, of love."--Cristina Henriquez, author of The Book of Unknown Americans


9th Ave: Trina Robbins

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Cartoonist and comics historian Trina Robbins discusses her new memoir, Last Girl Standing.

 

About Last Girl Standing

Last Girl Standing Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781683960140
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Fantagraphics Books - September 12th, 2017

From dressing Mama Cass to being pelted with jelly babies as she helped photograph the Rolling Stones's first US tour, from drunken New York nights spent with Jim Morrison to producing the very first all-woman comic book, the Lady of the Canyon takes no prisoners.


The Complete Wimmen's Comix Cover Image
By Trina Robbins (Editor)
$100.00
ISBN: 9781606998984
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Fantagraphics Books - March 7th, 2016

Pretty in Ink: North American Women Cartoonists, 1896-2013 Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781606996690
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Fantagraphics Books - December 6th, 2013

With the 1896 publication of Rose O Neill's comic strip The Old Subscriber Calls, in Truth Magazine, American women entered the field of comics, and they never left it. But, you might not know that reading most of the comics histories out there.


9th Ave: John Freeman and Rabih Alameddine

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Please join us for an evening with John Freeman, Rabih Alameddine and contributors to the new issue of Freeman’s Garnette Cadogan and Solmaz Sharif.

Freeman's: The Future of New Writing Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780802127297
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Grove Press - October 10th, 2017

"The oldest is 70. The youngest, 26. In between, the best list of this kind I have ever seen."--Marlon James

In three issues, the literary anthology from leading editor John Freeman has gained an international following and wide acclaim: "fresh, provocative, engrossing" (BBC.com), "impressively diverse" (O Magazine), "bold, searching" (Minneapolis Star-Tribune).


Freeman's: Home: The Best New Writing on Home Cover Image
By John Freeman (Editor)
$16.00
ISBN: 9780802126481
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Grove Press - April 4th, 2017

The third literary anthology in the series that has been called "ambitious" (O Magazine) and "strikingly international" (Boston Globe), Freeman's: Home, continues to push boundaries in diversity and scope, with stunning new pieces from emerging writers and literary luminaries alike.


The Angel of History Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780802127198
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Grove Press - October 17th, 2017

"A sprawling fever dream of a novel, by turns beautiful and horrifying, and impossible to forget . . . When Alameddine aims for the heart, he doesn't miss, and he hits hard . . . The Angel of History isn't just a brilliant novel, it's a heartfelt cry in the dark, a reminder that we can never forget our past, the friends and family we've loved and lost.


Look: Poems Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555977443
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Graywolf Press - July 5th, 2016

*Finalist for the National Book Award*


9th Ave: Ben Loory and Ethel Rohan

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Ben Loory discusses his new book, Tales of Falling and Flying, with Ethel Rohan.

 

Tales of Falling and Flying Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143130109
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Penguin Books - September 5th, 2017

"Mesmerizing and magical. . . . A stunning book." --NPR.org


Stories for Nighttime and Some for the Day Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143119500
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Penguin Books - July 26th, 2011

"This guy can write " --Ray Bradbury


The Weight of Him Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250092120
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: St. Martin's Press - February 14th, 2017

At four hundred pounds, Billy Brennan can always count on food. From his earliest memories, he has loved food's colors, textures and tastes. The way flavors go off in his mouth. How food keeps his mind still and his bad feelings quiet. Food has always made everything better, until the day Billy's beloved son Michael takes his own life.


9th Ave: I'd Rather Be Reading

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

I'd Rather Be Reading: A Library of Art for Book Lovers Cover Image
$12.95
ISBN: 9781452155111
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Chronicle Books - August 15th, 2017

For anyone who'd rather be reading than doing just about anything else, this book is the ultimate must-have. In this visual ode to all things bookish, readers will get lost in page after page of beautiful contemporary art, photography, and illustrations depicting the pleasures of books.


9th Ave: San Francisco Poet Laureate Kim Shuck

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Join us for a night of readings with San Francisco Poet Laureate Kim Shuck, Ingrid Keir, MK Chavez, Aja Couchois Duncan and EK Keith.

 

About Kim Shuck

Rabbit Stories Cover Image
$16.50
ISBN: 9780985288389
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Poetic Matrix Press - February 13th, 2013

Fiction. Native American Studies. "What Kim Shuck is writing is vital and vibrant. She is blending tradition with modernity, history with humor and her own Indigenous perspective witheverything else.


Dear Animal, Cover Image
$12.00
ISBN: 9780997093360
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Nomadic Press - November 19th, 2016

Poetry. Women's Studies. DEAR ANIMAL, is a re-imagination of the Linnaean taxonomy from a feminist perspective. This collection is a love letter to the resilient feral female and an exploration of the myriad Animalia that dwell in the margins.


Restless Continent Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9781933959306
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Litmus Press - May 1st, 2016

9th Ave: Kristin Sanders and Elizabeth Hall

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

  

 

Kristin Sanders and Elizabeth Hall read from their new books.

Cuntry Cover Image
$18.40
ISBN: 9780996475754
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships 1-10 business days from warehouse. ETA will be updated with email order confirmation.
Published: Trembling Pillow Press - May 15th, 2017

Poetry. "CUNTRY is an elegant excavation of Sanders's twinned obsession with pornography and country music. Effortlessly slipping between poetry, memoir, and music criticism, Sanders disrobes the country song of the 90's and uses it as a lens to expose our culture's sanitized images of femininity.


I Have Devoted My Life to the Clitoris Cover Image
$18.40
ISBN: 9781939460073
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships 1-10 business days from warehouse. ETA will be updated with email order confirmation.
Published: Tarpaulin Sky Press - August 1st, 2016

9th Ave: Kid Beowulf

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location

 

  

 

Kid Beowulf: The Song of Roland Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781449475901
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Andrews McMeel Publishing - February 28th, 2017

"What Rick Riordan did for the Greek gods, Fajardo has done for 'Beowulf' magnificent."
--Kirkus, starred review, Kid Beowulf: The Blood-Bound Oath
Giants Elephants Roller Coasters?


Kid Beowulf: The Blood-Bound Oath Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781449475895
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Andrews McMeel Publishing - August 2nd, 2016

"What Rick Riordan did for the Greek gods, Fajardo has done for 'Beowulf' magnificent."

--Kirkus, starred review

If you liked Percy Jackson, you'll love Kid Beowulf Inspired by the epic poem "Beowulf," this fun new series follows the adventures of 12-year-old twin brothers Beowulf and Grendel as they travel to distant lands and meet fellow epic heroes


9th Ave: Timothy McSweeney's Grand 50th Issue Release

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Join us on Tuesday, August 22nd to celebrate the release of McSweeney's issue 50! There will be music, mingling and complimentary beverages provided by Fort Point Beer Company.

 

McSweeney's Issue 50 Cover Image
By Dave Eggers (Editor)
$30.00
ISBN: 9781940450100
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: McSweeney's - August 29th, 2017

To celebrate our 50th issue, we've put together one of our very best collections, with stories, essays, treatises, manifestos, letters, comics, and illustrated travel diaries from 50 different contributors.


9th Ave: Wioletta Greg

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Polish writer Wioletta Greg discusses her new novel from Transit Books, Swallowing Mercury with Molly Parent. Sponsored by the Center for the Art of Translation.

 

Swallowing Mercury Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781945492044
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Transit Books - September 12th, 2017

Longlisted for the Man Booker International Prize

"Enchantingly elliptical fiction debut that sparkles with a gem-like quality."--The Guardian


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Books on the Park