Books on the Park

9th Ave: Mark Sarvas and Marie Mockett

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Mark Sarvas discusses his new novel, Memento Park, with Marie Mockett.

 

Praise for Memento Park

Memento Park Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780374206376
Availability: Coming Soon. Available for Pre-Order Now!
Published: Farrar Straus and Giroux - March 13th, 2018

A son learns more about his father than he ever could have imagined when a mysterious piece of art is unexpectedly restored to him


Where the Dead Pause, and the Japanese Say Goodbye: A Journey Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780393352290
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - January 18th, 2016

Marie Mutsuki Mockett's family owns a Buddhist temple 25 miles from the Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant. In March 2011, after the earthquake and tsunami, radiation levels prohibited the burial of her Japanese grandfather's bones. As Japan mourned thousands of people lost in the disaster, Mockett also grieved for her American father, who had died unexpectedly.


9th Ave: Mike Spencer

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

Mike Spencer discusses his new book, Private Eye Confidential: Stories From a Real P.I.

 

Praise for Private Eye Confidential

 

Private Eye Confidential: Stories from a Real P.I. Cover Image
$16.10
ISBN: 9780998720401
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships 1-10 business days from warehouse. ETA will be updated with email order confirmation.
Published: 99: The Press - September 15th, 2017

Literary Nonfiction. California Interest. At 29 years old, Mike Spencer moved from Florida back to the San Francisco Bay Area in late 1994. He realized that he wasn't going to achieve his dream job as a newspaper reporter for a major daily paper. He had a cheap apartment, a pantry of rice and beans and a $500 1970s Dodge Dart that worked, sometimes.


9th Ave: Squid Dissection with Danna Staaf

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

In celebration of her new book Squid Empire: The Rise and Fall of the Cephalopods, Danna Staaf joins us for a discussion on cephalopods and an in-person squid dissection!

Squid Empire: The Rise and Fall of the Cephalopods Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781611689235
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Foreedge - October 3rd, 2017

Before there were mammals on land, there were dinosaurs. And before there were fish in the sea, there were cephalopods--the ancestors of modern squid and Earth's first truly substantial animals. Cephalopods became the first creatures to rise from the seafloor, essentially inventing the act of swimming.


9th Ave: Leslie Jamison

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Leslie Jamison discusses her new book, The Recovering: Intoxication And Its Aftermath.

 

Praise for The Recovering

The Recovering: Intoxication and Its Aftermath Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780316259613
Availability: Coming Soon. Available for Pre-Order Now!
Published: Little Brown and Company - April 3rd, 2018

By the New York Times bestselling author of THE EMPATHY EXAMS, an exploration of addiction, and the stories we tell about it, that completely upends our notion of the traditional recovery memoir.


Staff Pick Logo
The Empathy Exams: Essays Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555976712
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Graywolf Press - April 1st, 2014

From personal loss to phantom diseases, The Empathy Exams is a bold and brilliant collection, winner of the Graywolf Press Nonfiction Prize

A Publishers Weekly Top Ten Essay Collection of Spring 2014


The Gin Closet Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781439153239
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships 1-10 business days from warehouse. ETA will be updated with email order confirmation.
Published: Free Press - May 3rd, 2011

AS A YOUNG WOMAN, Tilly flees home for the hollow underworld of Nevada, looking for pure souls and finding nothing but bad habits. One day, after Tilly has spent nearly thirty years without a family, drinking herself to the brink of death, her niece Stella--who has been leading her own life of empty promise in New York City--arrives on the doorstep of Tilly's desert trailer.


9th Ave: Francisco Cantú and R.O. Kwon

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Francisco Cantú discusses his new book, The Line Becomes a River: Dispatches from the Border with R.O. Kwon.

 

The Line Becomes a River: Dispatches from the Border Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780735217713
Availability: Coming Soon. Available for Pre-Order Now!
Published: Riverhead Books - February 6th, 2018

"A beautiful, fiercely honest, and nevertheless deeply empathetic look at those who police the border and the migrants who risk - and lose - their lives crossing it. In a time of often ill-informed or downright deceitful political rhetoric, this book is an invaluable corrective."
--Phil Klay


9th Ave: Cheston Knapp and Matthew Zapruder

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Cheston Knapp discusses his new essay collection, Up Up, Down Down with Matthew Zapruder.

 

Praise for Up Up, Down Down

Up Up, Down Down: Essays Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781501161025
Availability: Coming Soon. Available for Pre-Order Now!
Published: Scribner Book Company - February 6th, 2018

For fans of John Jeremiah Sullivan and Wells Tower, a "glittering," (Leslie Jamison), "always smart, often hilarious, and ultimately transcendent" (Anthony Doerr) linked essay collection from the managing editor of Tin House that brilliantly explores the nature of identity.


Why Poetry Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9780062343079
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Ecco Press - August 15th, 2017

An impassioned call for a return to reading poetry and an incisive argument for poetry's accessibility to all readers, by critically acclaimed poet Matthew Zapruder


9th Ave: Diana Khoi Nguyen

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

 Diana Khoi Nguyen reads from her new poetry collection, Ghost Of. Also featuring readings by fellow poets, Jane Wong, Ingrid Rojas, Diana Arterian and Juliana Xuan Wang.

Ghost of Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781632430526
Availability: Coming Soon. Available for Pre-Order Now!
Published: Omnidawn - February 1st, 2018

Ghost Of is a mourning song, not an exorcism or un-haunting of that which haunts, but attuned attention, unidirectional reaching across time, space, and distance to reach loved ones, ancestors, and strangers.


Overpour Cover Image
$18.40
ISBN: 9780900575914
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships 1-10 business days from warehouse. ETA will be updated with email order confirmation.
Published: Action Books - October 15th, 2016

Poetry. Asian American Studies. "Jane Wong's powerful first book OVERPOUR weaves together seemingly disparate topics such as war and child's play, language and exile, debt, animals and nature. By doing so, Wong creates a space between for the reader to enter. At the same time, by creating this space, she makes a space for possibility.


9th Ave: Rachel Levin Book Release

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Rachel Levin celebrates the release of her new book Look Big: And Other Tips for Surviving Animal Encounters of All Kinds.

 

Look Big: And Other Tips for Surviving Animal Encounters of All Kinds Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780399580376
Availability: Coming Soon. Available for Pre-Order Now!
Published: Ten Speed Press - April 10th, 2018

A humorous and helpful illustrated field guide to avoiding interactions--both dangerous and annoying--with 50 wild animals, including survival techniques, wildlife etiquette, and other essential advice.


9th Ave: Linor Goralik

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Linor Goralik discusses her new book, Found Life: Poems, Stories, Comics, a Play, and an Interview a part of Columbia's Russian Library series.

 

Found Life: Poems, Stories, Comics, a Play, and an Interview Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9780231183512
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Columbia University Press - November 28th, 2017

One of the first Russian writers to make a name for herself on the Internet, Linor Goralik writes conversational short works that conjure the absurd in all its forms, reflecting post-Soviet life and daily universals.


9th Ave: Richard Robbins

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Richard Robbins discusses his new work, Overtaken by the Night: One Russian's Journey Through Peace, War, Revolution & Terror.

 

Overtaken by the Night: One Russian's Journey Through Peace, War, Revolution, and Terror Cover Image
$39.95
ISBN: 9780822945161
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships 1-10 business days from warehouse. ETA will be updated with email order confirmation.
Published: University of Pittsburgh Press - November 13th, 2017

Vladimir Fedorovich Dzhunkovsky was a witness to Russia's unfolding tragedy--from Tsar Alexander II's Great Reforms, through world war, revolution, the rise of a new regime, and finally, his country's descent into terror under Stalin. But Dzhunkovsky was not just a passive observer--he was an active participant in his troubled and turbulent times, often struggling against the tide.


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Books on the Park