Books on the Park

9th Ave: Glori Simmons and Dickson Lam

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

 

Paper Sons: A Memoir Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781938769283
Availability: Coming Soon. Available for Pre-Order Now!
Published: Autumn House - May 6th, 2018

Winner of the Autumn House Nonfiction Contest, selected by Alison Hawthorne Deming (2017)

Set in a public housing project in San Francisco, Lam's memoir explores his transformation from a teenage graffiti writer to a high school teacher working with troubled youth while navigating the secret violence in his immigrant's family's past.


Carry You Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781938769290
Availability: Coming Soon. Available for Pre-Order Now!
Published: Autumn House - May 6th, 2018

Winner of the Autumn House Fiction Contest, selected by Amina Gautier (2017)


9th Ave: Elaine Castillo

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Elaine Castillo discusses her debut novel, America Is Not The Heart.

 

Praise for America Is Not The Heart

America Is Not the Heart Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780735222410
Availability: Coming Soon. Available for Pre-Order Now!
Published: Viking - April 3rd, 2018

Three generations of women from one immigrant family trying to reconcile the home they left behind with the life they're building in America


9th Ave: Rodrigo Fresán

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Rodrigo Fresán discusses his new novel, The Bottom of the Sky.

 

Praise for Rodrigo Fresán

Bottom of the Sky Cover Image
By Rodrigo Fresan, Will Vanderhyden (Translator)
$15.95
ISBN: 9781940953786
Availability: Coming Soon. Available for Pre-Order Now!
Published: Open Letter Books - May 29th, 2018

At its core, The Bottom of the Sky is a novel about two young boys in love with other planets and a disturbingly beautiful girl. An homage to the history of American science fiction, it's also about the Gulf War, 9/11, and a mysterious "incident." It's like a Kurt Vonnegut novel told by David Lynch through the lens of Philip K. Dick.


The Invented Part Cover Image
By Rodrigo Fresan, Will Vanderhyden (Translator)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781940953564
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Open Letter Books - May 16th, 2017

"A kaleidoscopic, open-hearted, shamelessly polymathic storyteller, the kind who brings a blast of oxygen into the room."--Jonathan Lethem


9th Ave: R.O. Kwon Book Release

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Join us on Tuesday, July 31st to celebrate the release of R.O. Kwon's debut novel, The Incendiaries.

 

The Incendiaries Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780735213890
Availability: Not Yet Published
Published: Riverhead Books - July 31st, 2018

A powerful, darkly glittering novel about violence, love, faith, and loss, as a young Korean American woman at an elite American university is drawn into acts of domestic terrorism by a cult tied to North Korea.


9th Ave: Aja Gabel

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Aja Gabel discusses her new novel, The Ensemble.

 

Praise for The Ensemble

The Ensemble Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780735214767
Availability: Coming Soon. Available for Pre-Order Now!
Published: Riverhead Books - May 15th, 2018

The addictive novel about four young friends navigating a cutthroat world and their complex relationships with each other, as ambition, passion, and love intertwine over the course of their lives.


9th Ave: Poe Ballantine

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Poe Ballantine discusses his new novel, Whirlaway.

 

Praise for Poe Ballantine

 

Whirlaway Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780997068399
Availability: Coming Soon. Available for Pre-Order Now!
Published: Hawthorne Books - April 1st, 2018

Eddie Plum, who insists he's been unjustifiably committed to a California psychiatric hospital, manages to finally escape after fourteen years of incarceration to start his life anew. On the run, he holes up in a sheltered barrio on a bluff above the Pacific Ocean owned by his wealthy but unsympathetic father.


Love & Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere Cover Image
By Poe Ballantine, Cheryl Strayed (Introduction by)
$16.95
ISBN: 9780983477549
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships 1-10 business days from warehouse. ETA will be updated with email order confirmation.
Published: Hawthorne Books - September 3rd, 2013

Fans of Truman Capote's In Cold Blood and John Berendt's Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil will embrace Poe Ballantine's Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere.


God Clobbers Us All Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780971691544
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships 1-10 business days from warehouse. ETA will be updated with email order confirmation.
Published: Hawthorne Books - May 1st, 2004

Set against the decaying halls of a San Diego rest home in the 1970s, God Clobbers Us All is the shimmering, hysterical, and melancholy account of eighteen-year-old surfer-boy orderly, Edgar Donahoe, and his struggles with romance, death, friendship, and an ill-advised affair with the wife of a maladjusted war veteran.


9th Ave: Signs of Resistance

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Bonnie Siegler discusses her new book, Signs of Resistance: A Visual History of Protest in America with Roman Mars.

 

Signs of Resistance: A Visual History of Protest in America Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781579658663
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Artisan Publishers - February 20th, 2018

In hundreds of iconic, smart, angry, clever, unforgettable images, Signs of Resistance chronicles what truly makes America great: citizens unafraid of speaking truth to power.


9th Ave: Rachel Kushner

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Rachel Kushner discusses her new novel, The Mars Room.

 

Prasie for Rachel Kushner

The Mars Room Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781476756554
Availability: Coming Soon. Available for Pre-Order Now!
Published: Scribner Book Company - May 1st, 2018

From twice National Book Award-nominated Rachel Kushner, whose Flamethrowers was called "the best, most brazen, most interesting book of the year" (Kathryn Schulz, New York magazine), comes a spectacularly compelling, heart-stopping novel about a life gone off the rails in contemporary America.


The Flamethrowers Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781439142011
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Scribner Book Company - January 14th, 2014

NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST - NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF 2013 BY THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW


The Strange Case of Rachel K Cover Image
$10.95
ISBN: 9780811225533
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: New Directions Publishing Corporation - September 6th, 2016

Telex from Cuba Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781416561040
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Scribner Book Company - June 2nd, 2009

From the National Book Award Finalist and New York Times bestselling author of The Flamethrowers, an astonishingly wise, ambitious, and riveting novel set in the American community in Cuba during the years leading up to Castro's revolution--a place that was a paradise for a time and for a few.


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Books on the Park