Books on the Park

9th Ave: Carl C. Anthony

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

 

Carl C. Anthony discusses his new book The Earth, the City, and the Hidden Narrative of Race.

 

The Earth, the City, and the Hidden Narrative of Race Cover Image
$21.95
ISBN: 9781613320211
Availability: Coming Soon. Available for Pre-Order Now!
Published: New Village Press - October 10th, 2017

Carl Anthony's memoir offers a new worldview to people of color. His work is both a personal story and an exposition of ideas that will appeal to those who appreciate thoughtful writing on issues of race, including individuals exploring their own identity and activists interested in democratizing power and advancing equitable policies for historically disenfranchised communities.


9th Ave: CAConrad and Dara Wier

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

 

While Standing in Line for Death Cover Image
$22.00
ISBN: 9781940696553
Availability: Coming Soon. Available for Pre-Order Now!
Published: Wave Books - September 5th, 2017

"From these rituals come notes; from those notes come poems; and from those poems comes not just a view into his process, but an entrance into another present." --Boston Globe


In the Still of the Night Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781940696577
Availability: Coming Soon. Available for Pre-Order Now!
Published: Wave Books - October 3rd, 2017

"Wier is a poet concerned with capturing the fluidity of thought and experience--and not diminishing its forward charge in doing so. Wier's lines have always had a wild whitewater crash to them, overwhelming any vessel she pours them into." --Boston Globe


9th Ave: Cristina Rivera Garza and Mauro Javier Cardenas

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Mexican writer Cristina Rivera Garza discusses her new novel, The Iliac Crest, with Mauro Javier Cardenas.

 

Praise for The Iliac Crest

 

The Iliac Crest Cover Image
By Cristina Rivera Garza, Sarah Booker (Translator), Elena Poniatowska (Afterword by)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781558614352
Availability: Coming Soon. Available for Pre-Order Now!
Published: Feminist Press - October 10th, 2017

On a dark and stormy night, two mysterious women invade an unnamed narrator's house, where they proceed to ruthlessly question their host's identity. While the women are strangely intimate--even inventing a secret language--they harass the narrator by repeatedly claiming that they know his greatest secret: that he is, in fact, a woman.


9th Ave: Alejandro Saravia and María José Gimenez

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Red, Yellow and Green Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781771961417
Availability: Coming Soon. Available for Pre-Order Now!
Published: Biblioasis - October 10th, 2017

In Montreal, Alfredo struggles with his memories of being ordered to commit an atrocity by the Bolivian army. Despising his nation as an oppressive sham, he falls for a woman who has no nation--a Kurdish freedom fighter trying to blast an independent Kurdistan into existence. As the net of intrigue closes in on his lover, Alfredo must finally face his past.


9th Ave: Hernán Diaz and Stephen Sparks

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Hernán Diaz discusses his new novel, In the Distance, with Stephen Sparks.

 

Praise for In the Distance

In the Distance Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781566894883
Availability: Coming Soon. Available for Pre-Order Now!
Published: Coffee House Press - October 10th, 2017

A young Swedish immigrant finds himself penniless and alone in California. The boy travels East in search of his brother, moving on foot against the great current of emigrants pushing West. Driven back again and again, he meets naturalists, criminals, religious fanatics, swindlers, Indians, and lawmen, and his exploits turn him into a legend.


9th Ave: Shanthi Sekaran

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Shanthi Sekaran discusses her new novel, Lucky Boy.

 

Praise for Lucky Boy

 

Lucky Boy Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101982266
Availability: Coming Soon. Available for Pre-Order Now!
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - September 5th, 2017

A heart-wrenching novel about the transformative power of motherhood and the redemptive beauty of love, perfect for readers of Jacquelyn Mitchard, Jenny Offill, and Cristina Henriquez.

"A fiercely compassionate story about the bonds and the bounds of motherhood and, ultimately, of love." --Cristina Henriquez, author of The Book of Unknown Americans


9th Ave: Trina Robbins

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Cartoonist and comics historian Trina Robbins discusses her new memoir, Last Girl Standing.

 

About Last Girl Standing

Last Girl Standing Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781683960140
Availability: Coming Soon. Available for Pre-Order Now!
Published: Fantagraphics Books - September 12th, 2017

From dressing Mama Cass to being pelted with jelly babies as she helped photograph the Rolling Stones's first US tour, from drunken New York nights spent with Jim Morrison to producing the very first all-woman comic book, the Lady of the Canyon takes no prisoners.


The Complete Wimmen's Comix Cover Image
By Trina Robbins (Editor)
$100.00
ISBN: 9781606998984
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Fantagraphics Books - March 7th, 2016

Pretty in Ink: North American Women Cartoonists, 1896-2013 Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781606996690
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Fantagraphics Books - December 6th, 2013

With the 1896 publication of Rose O Neill's comic strip The Old Subscriber Calls, in Truth Magazine, American women entered the field of comics, and they never left it. But, you might not know that reading most of the comics histories out there.


9th Ave: John Freeman and Rabih Alameddine

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Freeman's: The Future of New Writing Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780802127297
Availability: Coming Soon. Available for Pre-Order Now!
Published: Grove Press - October 10th, 2017

In three issues, the literary anthology from leading editor John Freeman has gained an international following and wide acclaim: "fresh, provocative, engrossing" (BBC.com), "impressively diverse" (O Magazine), "bold, searching" (Minneapolis Star-Tribune). Freeman's: The Future of New Writing departs from the series' progression of themes.


Freeman's: Home: The Best New Writing on Home Cover Image
By John Freeman (Editor)
$16.00
ISBN: 9780802126481
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Grove Press - April 4th, 2017

The third literary anthology in the series that has been called "ambitious" (O Magazine) and "strikingly international" (Boston Globe), Freeman's: Home, continues to push boundaries in diversity and scope, with stunning new pieces from emerging writers and literary luminaries alike.


Freeman's: Family: The Best New Writing on Family Cover Image
By John Freeman (Editor)
$16.00
ISBN: 9780802125262
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Grove Press - August 2nd, 2016

Freeman's: Family is the second literary anthology in the series reviewers are calling bold (Minneapolis Star-Tribune) and refreshing (Chicago Literati). Following a debut issue on the theme of Arrival, Freeman circles a new topic whose definition is constantly challenged by the best of our writers: family.


Freeman's: The Best New Writing on Arrival Cover Image
By John Freeman (Editor)
$16.00
ISBN: 9780802124418
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Grove Press - October 13th, 2015

We live today in constant motion, traveling distances rapidly, small ones daily, arriving in new states. In this inaugural edition of "Freeman's," a new biannual of unpublished writing, former "Granta" editor and NBCC president John Freeman brings together the best new fiction, nonfiction, and poetry about that electrifying moment when we arrive.


The Angel of History Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780802127198
Availability: Coming Soon. Available for Pre-Order Now!
Published: Grove Press - October 17th, 2017

"A sprawling fever dream of a novel, by turns beautiful and horrifying, and impossible to forget . . . When Alameddine aims for the heart, he doesn't miss, and he hits hard . . . The Angel of History isn't just a brilliant novel, it's a heartfelt cry in the dark, a reminder that we can never forget our past, the friends and family we've loved and lost.


An Unnecessary Woman Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780802122940
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Grove Press - November 11th, 2014

Winner of the California Book Award
Finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award
Finalist for the National Book Award
"Beautiful and absorbing."--New York Times


9th Ave: Ben Loory and Ethel Rohan

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

Ben Loory discusses his new book, Tales of Falling and Flying, with Ethel Rohan.

 

Tales of Falling and Flying Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143130109
Availability: Coming Soon. Available for Pre-Order Now!
Published: Penguin Books - September 5th, 2017

"Ben Loory's stories are little gifts, strange and moving and wonderfully human. I devoured this book in one sitting." --Ransom Riggs, author of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children

A dazzling new collection of stories from the critically acclaimed author of Stories for Nighttime and Some for The Day


Stories for Nighttime and Some for the Day Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143119500
Availability: NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships 1-10 business days from warehouse. ETA will be updated with email order confirmation.
Published: Penguin Books - July 26th, 2011

"This guy can write " --Ray Bradbury


The Weight of Him Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250092120
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: St. Martin's Press - February 14th, 2017

At four hundred pounds, Billy Brennan can always count on food. From his earliest memories, he has loved food's colors, textures and tastes. The way flavors go off in his mouth. How food keeps his mind still and his bad feelings quiet. Food has always made everything better, until the day Billy's beloved son Michael takes his own life.


9th Ave: I'd Rather Be Reading

This event will be held at our 9th Ave. location.

 

 

I'd Rather Be Reading: A Library of Art for Book Lovers Cover Image
$12.95
ISBN: 9781452155111
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Published: Chronicle Books - August 15th, 2017

For anyone who'd rather be reading than doing just about anything else, this book is the ultimate must-have. In this visual ode to all things bookish, readers will get lost in page after page of beautiful contemporary art, photography, and illustrations depicting the pleasures of books.


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Books on the Park