Books for the Nature Lover

Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780670025114
Availability: Not available
Published: Viking Books - October 11th, 2012

From the acclaimed author of The Wild Places, an exploration of walking and thinking


$35.00
ISBN: 9780674072824
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Belknap Press - May 15th, 2013

Long before GPS, Google Earth, and global transit, humans traveled vast distances using only environmental clues and simple instruments. John Huth asks what is lost when modern technology substitutes for our innate capacity to find our way.


$28.00
ISBN: 9780374272845
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days from the warehouse
Published: Farrar Straus Giroux - August 6th, 2013

A luminous and revelatory journey into the science of life and the depths of the human experience

By turns epic and intimate, Telling Our Way to the Sea is both a staggering revelation of unraveling ecosystems and a profound meditation on our changing relationships with nature—and with one another.


$19.95
ISBN: 9781616200466
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill - March 19th, 2013

Sake began with a grain of rice. Scotch emerged from barley, tequila from agave, rum from sugarcane, bourbon from corn. Thirsty yet? In "The Drunken Botanist," Amy Stewart explores the dizzying array of herbs, flowers, trees, fruits, and fungi that humans have, through ingenuity, inspiration, and sheer desperation, contrived to transform into alcohol over the centuries.


$15.99
ISBN: 9780061976209
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ecco Press - February 2011

From his childhood fascination with the gigantic Natural History Museum model of a blue whale, to his abiding love of Moby-Dick, to his adult encounters with the living animals in the Atlantic Ocean, the acclaimed writer Philip Hoare has been obsessed with whales.


By J. A. Baker, Robert MacFarlane (Introduction by)
$15.95
ISBN: 9781590171332
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: New York Review of Books - December 31st, 2004

From fall to spring, J.A. Baker set out to track the daily comings and goings of a pair of peregrine falcons across the flat fen lands of eastern England. He followed the birds obsessively, observing them in the air and on the ground, in pursuit of their prey, making a kill, eating, and at rest, activities he describes with an extraordinary fusion of precision and poetry.


$15.99
ISBN: 9780061233326
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial - September 10th, 2013

Pilgrim at Tinker Creek is the story of a dramatic year in Virginia's Blue Ridge valley. Annie Dillard sets out to see what she can see. What she sees are astonishing incidents of "mystery, death, beauty, violence."


$26.00
ISBN: 9780345536259
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ballantine Books - September 10th, 2013

In the tradition of Michael Pollan’s The Omnivore’s Dilemma, Susan Orlean’s The Orchid Thief, and Mark Kurlansky’s Cod—a renowned culinary adventurer goes into the woods with the iconoclasts and outlaws who seek the world’s most coveted ingredient . . . and one of nature’s last truly wild foods: the uncultivated, uncontrollable mushroom.


$17.50
ISBN: 9780911469035
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Alan C Hood & Company -

Euell Gibbons is one of the few people in this country to have devoted a considerable part of his life to the adventure of "living off the land". The wild foods he recommends in this book are widely available everywhere. There are recipes for delicious vegetable and casserole dishes, breads, cakes, muffins and twenty different pies.


$35.00
ISBN: 9780393078022
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - October 28th, 2013

California now has more trees than at any time since the late Pleistocene. This green landscape, however, is not the work of nature. It's the work of history. In the years after the Gold Rush, American settlers remade the California landscape, harnessing nature to their vision of the good life.


0