Golden State (Paperback)

$15.00
On Our Shelves Now
Green Apple Books
10 on hand, as of Dec 16 12:34am
(FICTION)
Books on the Park
1 on hand, as of Dec 18 10:36pm
(FICTION)

Description


Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Jacquelyn Mitchard, and Anna Quindlen, "Golden State" is a powerful, mesmerizing new novel that explores the intricacies of marriage, family, and the profound moments that shape our lives.
Doctor Julie Walker has just signed her divorce papers when she receives news that her younger sister, Heather, has gone into labor. Though theirs is a strained relationship, Julie sets out for the hospital to be at her sister's side--no easy task since the streets of San Francisco are filled with tension and strife. Today is also the day that Julie will find herself at the epicenter of a violent standoff in which she is forced to examine both the promising and the painful parts of her past--her Southern childhood; her romance with her husband, Tom; her estrangement from Heather; and the shattering incident that led to her greatest heartbreak.
Infused with emotional depth and poignancy, "Golden State" takes readers on a journey over the course of a single, unforgettable day--through an extraordinary landscape of love, loss, and hope.
Praise for "Golden State"
" "
"A stirring look at the ties that bind husband-wife, mother-child and even sisters, and what happens when they're torn asunder. Set in a San Francisco chafing with unrest both political and personal, the world Richmond creates is exquisitely charged with regret and hope."--"Family Circle"
" "
" A] riveting read that can be recommended to fans of Jodi Picoult and Jacquelyn Mitchard . . . Mesmerizing and intricate, Richmond's dissection of a California on the violent brink of secession from the nation provides the backdrop to her deeper inspection of the uneasy, fragile relationship between siblings."--"Booklist "(starred review)
" An] amazing, turbulent novel woven of disparate threads . . . Nearly every feature of this mesmerizing novel is provocative, as Richmond explores the fragmented, hopeful lives of complex characters. This is gripping, multilayered must-read fiction."--"Library Journal" (starred review)
"An exciting premise . . . skillfully written . . . Julie's past and her relationship with the other characters are scrutinized as the clock ticks. It's an interesting and sometimes-disturbing study."--"Kirkus Reviews"
" "
"Richmond takes readers through a bittersweet, heartwarming tale of a woman on the cusp of life-changing events in both her personal and professional lives. . . . Once invested, the reader is carried away by this action-packed, poignant story, making this a tale that will live in the heart of the reader once the last page is read."--"RT Book Reviews"
" "
"This is a thoughtful book about how past circumstances change us into the people we are today, for the good or bad. Julie is a sympathetic and relatable character, and readers will definitely feel for her as she goes through her life-changing day."--"The Parkersburg""News and Sentinel"
" "
"Richmond . . . delivers a page-turner."--"San Jose Mercury News"
"A breathtaking read and one I'll not soon forget."--Melanie Benjamin, author of "The Aviator's Wife"
Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more.

About the Author


Michelle Richmond is the author of the forthcoming novel GOLDEN STATE (February 4, 2014), the New York Times bestseller THE YEAR OF FOG, the novels NO ONE YOU KNOW and DREAM OF THE BLUE ROOM, and the award-winning story collection The Girl in the Fall-Away Dress. Her new story collection, HUM, will also be published in 2014.

Michelle has received the Catherine Doctorow Innovative Fiction Prize (2012), the Hillsdale Award for Fiction from the Fellowship of Southern Writers (2009), the Associated Writing Programs Award, and the Mississippi Review Fiction Prize.

Praise For…


“A stirring look at the ties that bind husband-wife, mother-child and even sisters, and what happens when they’re torn asunder. Set in a San Francisco chafing with unrest both political and personal, the world Richmond creates is exquisitely charged with regret and hope.”Family Circle
 
“[A] riveting read that can be recommended to fans of Jodi Picoult and Jacquelyn Mitchard . . . Mesmerizing and intricate, Richmond’s dissection of a California on the violent brink of secession from the nation provides the backdrop to her deeper inspection of the uneasy, fragile relationship between siblings.”Booklist (starred review)
 
“[An] amazing, turbulent novel woven of disparate threads . . . Nearly every feature of this mesmerizing novel is provocative, as Richmond explores the fragmented, hopeful lives of complex characters. This is gripping, multilayered must-read fiction.”Library Journal (starred review)
 
“An exciting premise . . . skillfully written . . . Julie’s past and her relationship with the other characters are scrutinized as the clock ticks. It’s an interesting and sometimes-disturbing study.”Kirkus Reviews
 
“Richmond takes readers through a bittersweet, heartwarming tale of a woman on the cusp of life-changing events in both her personal and professional lives. . . . Once invested, the reader is carried away by this action-packed, poignant story, making this a tale that will live in the heart of the reader once the last page is read.”RT Book Reviews
 
“This is a thoughtful book about how past circumstances change us into the people we are today, for the good or bad. Julie is a sympathetic and relatable character, and readers will definitely feel for her as she goes through her life-changing day.”The Parkersburg News and Sentinel
 
“Richmond . . . delivers a page-turner.”San Jose Mercury News

“A breathtaking read and one I’ll not soon forget.”—Melanie Benjamin, author of The Aviator’s Wife
 
“I haven’t read such a gripping, bittersweet, moving novel in ages. Golden State sweeps you up, whisks you away, and doesn’t let you go till the very end. Michelle Richmond, author of the unforgettable The Year of Fog, does it again.”—Tatiana de Rosnay, author of Sarah’s Key
 
“This is the kind of book you want to read slowly, but instead you read it in a mad rush to find out where this incredibly talented writer is taking you.”—Ann Packer, author of Swim Back to Me
 
“So imaginative, so heartfelt—a masterly braid of memory and urgency. Richmond is in top form, and has made a book of exquisite grace.”—Andrew Sean Greer, author of The Impossible Lives of Greta Wells
 
“Dazzlingly smart and moving, Golden State doesn’t just shine, it blazes.—Caroline Leavitt, author of Pictures of You

Product Details
ISBN: 9780385343282
ISBN-10: 0385343280
Publisher: Bantam Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: February 4th, 2014
Pages: 288
Language: English