I Don't Want to Be a Frog (Library Binding)

I Don't Want to Be a Frog Cover Image
By Dev Petty, Mike Boldt (Illustrator)
$26.99
NOT on our shelves now. Usually ships 1-10 business days from warehouse. ETA will be updated with email order confirmation.

Description


The hit book about a willful young frog with a serious identity crisis and his heard-it-all-before father Perfect for fans of Mo Willems's Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus and Jon Klassen's I Want My Hat Back

Frog wants to be anything but a slimy, wet frog. A cat, perhaps. Or a rabbit. An owl? But when a hungry wolf arrives--a wolf who HATES eating frogs--our hero decides that being himself isn't so bad after all. In this very silly story with a sly message, told in hilarious dialogue between a feisty young frog and his heard-it-all-before father, young readers will identify with little Frog's desire to be something different, while laughing along at his stubborn yet endearing schemes to prove himself right.

And look for the hilarious sequels--I Don't Want to Be Big and There's Nothing to Do --available now

★ "First-time author Petty's dialogue between a frog father and his son makes its point about accepting one's nature with a big grin. . . . The story might create similar gratitude in the minds of readers--or it might just make them giggle."--Publishers Weekly, STARRED REVIEW

"A lively look at self-acceptance."--Kirkus Reviews

"This amusing story ends with a laugh and a much more content frog."--School Library Journal

"Silliness and deadpan humor combine into a hopping good story of being happy with who you are."--Booklist

"A paean to self-acceptance wrapped in snappy dialogue and illustrated with richly colored comic paintings."--Wall Street Journal

"Petty and Boldt provide just enough predictability to hook youngest readers, then deliver a delightful twist or two to create surprise and satisfaction--for both the green hero and the many fans he'll make with this book."--Shelf Awareness

"This lighthearted exploration of identity will delight as a readaloud."--The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

About the Author


DEV PETTY is the author of I Don't Want to Be a Frog, I Don't Want to Be Big, and There's Nothing to Do!. A graduate of the University of California, Santa Cruz, Dev previously worked as a visual-effects artist in film, contributing to such movies as the Matrix Trilogy. Dev was born and raised in Berkeley, California, and now lives right next door in Albany with her husband, two daughters, some dogs, and other critters. Visit her online at devpetty.com. MIKE BOLDT is an author and illustrator living in the countryside of Alberta, Canada. He has been illustrating for children for the past fifteen years, including the picture books I Don't Want to Be a Frog and I Don't Want to Be Big. When he's not drawing, he's building snow forts and Lego spaceships with his three kids, or sharing laughs and his ice cream with his wife. He is very glad he's not a frog. Visit Mike online at mikeboldt.ca.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780375973345
ISBN-10: 0375973346
Publisher: Doubleday Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: February 10th, 2015
Pages: 32
Language: English