The Brink: Stories (Paperback)

The Brink: Stories Cover Image
$14.99
On Our Shelves Now. Call store for up-to-the-minute availability.
Green Apple Books on Clement
1 on hand, as of Oct 22 1:30am
(FICTION)

Description


A brilliant, inventive debut story collection in the vein of Kevin Wilson and Wells Tower.

Brimming with life and unforgettable voices, the stories in Austin Bunn's dazzling collection explore the existential question: what happens at "the end" and what lies beyond it? In the wry but affecting "How to Win an Unwinnable War," a summer class on nuclear war for gifted teenagers turns a struggling family upside down. A young couple's idyllic beach honeymoon is interrupted by terrorism in the lush, haunting "Getting There and Away." When an immersive videogame begins turning off in the heartbreaking "Griefer," an obsessive player falls in love with a mysterious player in the final hours of a world.

Told in a stunning range of voices, styles, and settings--from inside the Hale-Bopp cult to the deck of a conquistador's galleon adrift at the end of the ocean--the stories in Bunn's collection capture the transformations and discoveries at the edge of irrevocable change. Each tale presents a distinct world, told with deep emotion, energizing language, and characters with whom we have more in common that we realize. They signal the arrival of an astonishing new talent in short fiction.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062362612
ISBN-10: 0062362615
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Publication Date: April 28th, 2015
Pages: 240
Language: English
Series: P.S. (Paperback)